RSS

Mind and Body

31 Jan

I have really come to learn how the mind and body are intertwined. When the mind is feeling strong, the body follows and vise versa. It is an important relationship. The only hard part is when the body is down, it is really hard to get the mind in the right place. I find it a fight to feel good when my body is struggling. I guess I have finally understood why I have exercised all this time. It was not to look good, but to feel good. I was creating a situation where I was making my body feel good so my mind could. I wish I would have learned that a long time ago. I guess I still have a chance to feel good with a little exercise.

Today was a long day. I am starting to take this drug to manage some pain I get in my legs. The one downside to this drug is that it makes you sleepy. With all that I do during the day, the drowsiness really slows me down. Fortunately, I was able to get past the drowsiness and be productive this evening.

Mom came down here with her truck and I learned to get in the truck in a situation where the car seat is higher than my chair. I seemed to pick it up pretty quickly. It felt nice to accomplish something without struggling. She even brought a burger, which was pretty good.

The brace did come off today. I will be weaning off the brace over the next few days. When I took off the brace for the first time today it was the closest thing to feeling naked. I wish I could explain the odd feeling of having it off. The opportunity for greater independence is here, I guess I better take advantage.

I also wanted to thank a friend for the great picture. It was a great gift and it really lifted my spirits. I have it sitting on my counter and I look at it everyday. So, a really big thank you Amber. It was a perfect gift. See below.

I guess this is a short one tonight. See below for a picture of me without my brace and my shadow. Two more days till Erika comes back, and I am counting the minutes. Those at ASU: tell her to focus, study hard, and I love her.

rockin-yoel.jpg

shadow.jpg

 
14 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

14 responses to “Mind and Body

  1. Jessie Aufderheide

    January 31, 2007 at 8:31 pm

    Joel,
    You’re progress is amazing! You are such an inspiration. Keep up the hard work, it seems to be paying off.
    Any bets on the superbowl?
    Jessie and Ben

     
  2. Trevor Bond

    January 31, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    Joel-

    I just wanted to say thank you. Despite all that’s happened, you’ve kepy us informed, excited, and, most importantly, inspired. That’s a difficult thing to do and yet you’ve succeeded admirably.

    Erika tells us you might be heading back down to Phoenix this spring. Can’t wait until our paths cross again… but this time no lousy Arizona State Football distracting from the conversation!

    If you should need anything, please don’t hesitiate to ask. We’ll be sure to hook you up. All my best!

    -Trevor

     
  3. NORM BIEHL

    February 1, 2007 at 6:46 am

    ****GOOD**MORNING**JOEL**SPIRIT..MIND..AND,,BODY..GREAT ANALOGY..THE SPIRIT OF THE SOUTHWEST,THE PLACE YOU CALL HOME …THINK BACK TO THE PEOPLE WE TOOK THE LAND FROM …. THEIR SPIRIT IS WITHIN YOU….BRIGHTER DAYS ARE AHEAD ! ! ! ! ! N & S……

     
  4. Kim, Mike and Matilda

    February 1, 2007 at 8:47 am

    Joel,
    Another day and you have brought tears of joy to my eyes, humbleness to my soul, and inspiration to my heart. Thank you for being so open and honest about your journey. As many people have said, you have blessed each of our lives through your writing.
    Stay warm today.
    Kim

     
  5. Bry, Jess and Jamysen

    February 1, 2007 at 10:19 am

    You’re definitely looking glorious without the brace. Your smile looks way bigger!!
    Jess

     
  6. Bry, Jess and Jamysen

    February 1, 2007 at 11:41 am

    This is from my mom…
    Hi Joel,
    We here in San Antonio always wish you the best. I agree with your friends and family that your blog is a daily thing here in our home. The perspective that you give everything is nothing short of inspiring, which is commonly used in conjunction with your name. I understand that the Vancouver Yates’ are heading your way for the Big three-oh! Have a wonderful time and enjoy yourself. Celebrate with love and laughter knowing the thoughts of all of those who wish they could be there, are with you. Post photos as soon as you can.

    John and Juli

     
  7. Matt

    February 1, 2007 at 12:29 pm

    Lookin good big rigger’! Its hard to imagine what it would feel like to have that brace off but you described it well. Keep on kickin butt and thanks again for all the blogs, hard to start the day without it!!!
    Matt

     
  8. Bill Wilhelm

    February 1, 2007 at 2:42 pm

    Hey, Joel,

    I talked with Erika last night and she sounded very positive about life and love – just like you have been. It’s amazing witnessing the progress you’ve made since Flagstaff and how much love and support you have from everyone. You are blessed in that regard.

    Happy birthday…and GO COLTS!!
    Bill

     
  9. MB

    February 1, 2007 at 2:56 pm

    Joel,
    We all need to connect our bodies and minds, and I just wish I had half the connection you seem to have…
    I’m glad the brace has been removed, your smile says it all!
    Cheers,
    MB

     
  10. Ron Laughery

    February 1, 2007 at 3:41 pm

    That’s really great that the brace came off, Joel. I know how long you’ve been looking forward to that. All those baby steps you’ve been taking are really starting to show some big results now, aren’t they? You are a strong person and I love all your good attitude.
    With all that mind and body stuff, it’s not hard to guess you grew up in Boulder.
    Ron

     
  11. Erin Carson

    February 1, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    That kid seems to really like you… maybe you missed your calling of teaching! Never too late…

    You look MUCH more comfy with that neck brace off! So good to see!

     
  12. Ross & Amber

    February 2, 2007 at 12:39 am

    Hi Joel!
    You look fabulous minus the brace! You have got to feel so great with it off! Your new buddy looks fun too. I’m sure you do great job keeping him entertained! Your good at that!
    Keep kicking butt! I look forward to your writings every night!
    Catch you on the flip side!
    Amber
    PS The pic is from everyone! We were and are always thinking of you! PHX just ain’t the same without you. My mom actually painted the banner…isn’t she creative. Both my mom and dad were both there supporting me, supporting you!!

     
  13. Laurie Marta

    February 2, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    Dear Joel,

    You really are an inspiration. Writing from the heart is not easy for a great number of people, yet you manage it well. I am uplifted by your words. I do try to maintain a positive perspective, but sometimes I get weary. I have been substitute teaching the past three days for a first-grade class and feel less than qualified for the job. However, I push past those negative thoughts and keep plugging away at it. The more I do it, the more I learn how to do it better. I think we are in a similar position here in that we both eliminate the negative and accentuate the positive. We struggle in our different ways, and with each victory the battle is that much closer to being won. Victory is within reach. Keep up the good work, and I wish you a very “Happy Birthday.”

    Love to you and Erika,

    Laurie

     
  14. Karyl Thurston

    February 3, 2007 at 5:46 am

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY
    JOEL!!
    THE BIG 3-0
    Remember birthdays are
    like martinis …after a few
    you don’t bother to count
    them.!! Will be down to see
    you next month. Big Huge Hug!

     

Leave a Reply

 
