RSS

Independence

28 Jan

Independence is something that I have not had a lot of lately. I need help to get out of bed. I need help to get into bed. I need help to shower. However, in the last couple of days, I have realized that I am really ready for my independence. I am ready to get myself to bed. I am ready to take showers on my own. I am ready to feel whole again. For so many years before this, I lived with quite a bit of independence and I enjoyed it. My lack of independence is really starting to get to me. The good news is the light at the end of the tunnel is so near and I can almost taste it. The freedom of independence is something I will never take for granted ever again.

Today I managed to get out of bed early to go to a wheelchair basketball tournament. I can’t say I found myself thinking that I want to do that. I did learn a little bit about the sport while I was there. From what I gathered it is a pretty big deal. As I found out, many players on their respective team won’t actually live in the city they play for. The players will get flown to in to town for practice. Apparently, the NBA teams spend quite a bit of money on these teams. Today’s field trip was a nice way to get out of Craig.

The nice part of my trip this morning was I met an individual that spent time here at Craig. He gave me some great advice on managing my own care. It was nice to commensurate with someone that had been where I am today. He also gave me some great advice on looking for some grants when I get out of here. Our conversation really lifted my spirits.

Speaking of getting out. I did what I needed with PT and the rest of the group to get a “hall pass” to get out. For anyone wanting to got to a Colorado Crush game, and can drive, let me know.

I spoke to Erika today and she is coming back for the weekend — this weekend. She is coming in for the birthday. Yep… I am turning 30. I never figured I would turn 30 like this, but as long as I have Erika I am happy. I can barely wait to have her here. She makes this place bright and full of hope. I am counting the days.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 28, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

7 responses to “Independence

  1. Luke

    January 29, 2007 at 7:28 am

    Holy crap, you’re turning 30! Pretty damn old, bud. But as long as you have Erika there, I’m sure it will be a great day. That’s good to hear about the basketball game and I’m glad you met someone to give you some good advice on grants and such. It sounds like you’re kicking but at therapy (great news about the abs). Keep up the good work and postive attitude.

    Lots of love from Boston,
    Luke

     
  2. Ken

    January 29, 2007 at 11:00 am

    You are an inspiration to many people Joel. Keep fighting! Thanks for the updates.

     
  3. Erin Carson

    January 29, 2007 at 2:19 pm

    I’m so glad you did the basketball tournament… that sounds like a great experience! I can’t believe you’re turning 30 either, you old man! I guess I’m only a year off, so I’ll have my day. 🙂 My belly is starting to get big– you would make a funny joke if you saw me now. I’ll bring some good food for both of us when I come, and you can watch the belly grow…

    Keep up the good work Joel!

     
  4. Janis

    January 29, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    Joel,
    Craig works you hard so you WILL get your independence back again. You are already getting out more than I do. Of course the weather up hear is freezing now so all I want to do is hanker down and keep warm which is no easy feat in my drafty house. It is good to hear Erika is coming back for your Birthday. Much love, Janis

     
  5. Matt

    January 30, 2007 at 7:55 am

    I can drive… I like the Crush….I am flyin in next month…maybe we can work somthin out! It was great to see you this last weekend, always a good time catching up with ya. Again your optimism and progress was impressive. Your hard work is paying off mentally and physically. Hopefully we can catch a game in a few weeks, that would be a great time!!! Take care buddy,
    Matt

     
  6. Rich & Mary Hiegel

    January 30, 2007 at 8:45 am

    Joel,

    Sounds like you are making good progress. I know you are impatient to move on, (that’s a man thing), but remember (“How do you eat an elephant?” —- one bite at a time.”) So, continue to make the most of what you can learn while at Craig. So pleased you had the opportunity to speak with a Craig alum – and he was so open about sharing his experience. Keep up the networking! That’s the way to glean as much info as you can! You’re the best.
    Love ya,
    Mary and Rich

     
  7. MOLLIE AND DICK

    January 30, 2007 at 4:41 pm

    Happy Birthday Joel. We know it’s going to be different than you expected, but everyday is special and reading your blog is inspiring (I bet you are sick of hearing that—but it’s a great journal and something you need to print and bind). Glad Erika is coming, give her a kiss from us. Love to both of you, mollie and dick o’donnell

     

Leave a Reply

 
