RSS

Patience

27 Jan

One thing that really makes this place tough is that there are no big steps of improvement here. Any gains here are measured in weeks, not months. Here at Craig, there are many steps and there are many of them. I would say the theme here is to take it one day at a time. And you really need to remember that, or you’ll drive yourself nuts.

Yesterday we visited the Natural History Museum here in Denver. It was a nice break from Craig. I had been at the Natural Museum before as a kid. It’s amazing that many things I saw a child 20 years ago still remain — many of which brought back memories of those childhood days. I would give you some pictures, but I forgot the camera.

Today I had a couple of buddies from my days at Fort Collins come for a visit. It was nice having them here. We talked dirty and made bad jokes. One of the guys was Matt. We went to school together and now we work for the same company. It was fun to hear what is going on back at work. I’ll admit, I haven’t thought of work much recently.

Update on my health: I am getting an MRI of my back and neck on Monday, which is good news because I probably will get my neck brace on Monday. Let me tell you, I can’t wait. The last couple days, it has been driving me nuts. The brace has affected my eating. It just makes eating more difficult. The best part of removing my brace is that I will be able to really progress on my own. Without the brace I can do a lot more on my own. It should be nice.

Other than that, I am optimistic about my progress. I am also getting stronger and getting anxious to get back home to Tempe and Erika. Tomorrow is a basketball tourney and getting ready for another week of therapy.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

6 responses to “Patience

  1. Brian Dietzen

    January 27, 2007 at 8:08 pm

    Glad to hear about the neck brace man. one day at a time, one day at a time. Harder than it sounds isn’t it? One more day is one day closer to being with Erika in Tempe! Good luck and have fun with the basketball. I truly look forward o every post. Keep em coming!
    -Brian

     
  2. mb

    January 27, 2007 at 10:09 pm

    Joel,
    I hope the MRI shows good things…I know the neck brace hampers movement to say the least! Each day has you getting stronger and healthier, and patience is something we all need to improve upon, so thank you for showing us the way.
    Cheers,
    MB

     
  3. Bill Wilhelm

    January 28, 2007 at 9:04 am

    Dear Joel,

    One day at a time is a terrific philosophy to live by. It not only helps you to better deal with the challenges you face in your life, but also helps you to recognize and enjoy the positives that affect your life as well. The love you share with Erika is certainly one of those positives. Your daily progress is terrific! Keep the faith.

    …and Go Colts!

    Bill

     
  4. Bernadette and Gil

    January 28, 2007 at 10:10 am

    Good morning Joel,
    Good news that the neck brace may be a thing of the past!
    I might have to disagree with you on no big steps of improvement. YOU have made many giant steps towards your recovery. In the day to day it may seem like you haven’t made much improvement, but you have done so much, improved so much and continue to gain strength and independence.
    Day to day….. and keep up your optimisim.
    Can’t wait to hear about the bball tourney.

     
  5. Peter Scanlon

    January 28, 2007 at 9:43 pm

    Joel,

    I’m continually impressed with your philosophical approach to your recovery, and especially how you manage to communicate that approach to the rest of us on this blog. Your writing is clear, concise, and very readable. Keep it up – it’s not a full day until we get a post.

    Pete

     
  6. NORM BIEHL

    January 30, 2007 at 6:27 am

    GOOOOD***MORNING**MY FRIEND***HOPE IS THE ONE THING WE ALL HAVE IN COMMON….READING THE INTERNET THIS MORNING A RETIRED COUPLE WON THE BIG ONE $254. MILLION THEIR DEFINATION OF HOPE HAS DEFINATLEY CHANGED FROM NOW ON……I…HOPE…YUO…HAVE..A..GREAT..DAY…..N & S…

     

Leave a Reply

 
