RSS

Cooking

25 Jan

Cooking was something that I did not do all the time, but I certainly it enjoyed when I did do it. Many weekend mornings, I would wake up and make a breakfast for Erika and me. Sometimes I would go to the store and make a nice meal. But today was different. I had to make something as a part of my rehab. Cooking today was significantly more difficult than before. The challenges of managing all the food, the cookware, and everything else had me a bit frustrated. I remember the fluidity of cooking, as I get one thing started and begin something else. I would move from one activity to another like it was a sport. Now, I just don’t have that. I would really like to get to a point where I can cook again. Like everything else, it is something that I will have to learn all over again.

The good news of the day actually had to do with my cooking. Today here at Craig, we had a “Taste of Craig” and my cooking of the Fajita Quesadillas were the hit of the function. Those Quesadillas went like hot cakes.

Other than that my days are pretty much the same. This Sunday I am getting dragged to a wheelchair basketball tournament, which means I am getting out of bed early on Sunday. Thus, I am sleeping in on Saturday. Those looking to visit on Sunday, I wouldn’t get here any earlier than noon.

Before I forget for the hundreth time. Those out there enjoying your daily fill of Drunkcyclist.com: Here at good ole’ Craig they have outlawed it. I haven’t been able to get my fill of Drunkcyclist.com in some time. If someone wants to send my bootleg copies I will certainly accept it.

One last thing. I had the fortune of meeting some Rockies minor leage players the other day. Lee Macdonald, big heart surgeon, is in the picture too. Right on. See pictures below.

I realize this is a short one, but I will have better blogs in the future.

rockies.jpg

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 25, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

10 responses to “Cooking

  1. Mel Benedict

    January 25, 2007 at 9:23 pm

    cant quite picture you with a chef’s hat on…. it would block the view of the new hair do. mel

     
  2. Jason Botterill

    January 26, 2007 at 7:53 am

    Your obvious motivation is inspirational! Have fun at the tournament and I will offer again that whenever you ever want to jump out of a plane, just let me know where and when. Blue Skies. Jason

     
  3. Matt

    January 26, 2007 at 8:16 am

    Those weren’t ‘special’ quesadillas were they?? Its great to see the positivity shinning through! I hope you have a great day and lookin forward to hangin out this weekend… Is saturday a good time to come by?? give me a call if you can 970.409.8931.
    Matt

     
  4. Matt

    January 26, 2007 at 8:17 am

    Those weren’t ‘special’ quesadillas were they?? Its great to see the positivity shinning through! I hope you have a great day and lookin forward to hangin out this weekend… Is saturday a good time to come by?? give me a call if you get a chance. 970.409.8931.
    Matt

     
  5. Karen

    January 26, 2007 at 9:08 am

    What is your recipe for the fajita quesadillas? Would live to try some……:) Keep smilin, Joel – and keep on looking for the silver lining!

     
  6. Uncle George and Aunt Elna

    January 26, 2007 at 11:29 am

    Hi Joel
    Glad to hear your fajita quesadillas were a hit. I personally love any food that is prepared by someone else!!!!!!You are my inspiration for working hard. Thanks
    Gentle hugs G and E

     
  7. Dan Zatkovich

    January 26, 2007 at 12:37 pm

    Are you serious that they’re blocking drunkcyclist? WTF? That makes no sense at all

     
  8. Bernadette and Gil

    January 26, 2007 at 8:17 pm

    Hey Joel,
    The blogs are still awesome, and very motivational. Keep up the hard work. You’re something special, that’s for sure.
    Have fun at the bball tourney.
    Enjoy your weekend.

     
  9. NORM BIEHL

    January 27, 2007 at 7:27 am

    GOOOOD ***MOOOORNING**JOEL YOU WERE LOOKING GOOD ON THE EXERCISE EQUIPTMENT YESTERDAY ! ! ! EVERY DAY IS ONE DAY LESS TILL YOUR BACK IN ARIZONA…KEEP THE POSITIVE THOUGHTS FLOWING….. N & S….

     
  10. Bry, Jess and Jamysen

    January 27, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    Like everything else it will take time to teach yourself again on how to cook. You’ve taught yourself before, you will do it again. Thank goodness for your height, or you wouldn’t be able to see the counter tops. Cooking, like everything else will take a bit more time for a while, BUT before you know it the fluidity of it all will be back. That cast iron pan is waiting for some ‘Joel cooking’ action in Tempe. Keep up the great work, and as always I love reading your blogs about your progress.

     

Leave a Reply

 
