RSS

Hope

24 Jan

Hope is such a part of my stay here at Craig. It’s not always easy to see. But it is here. This place is full of people who have hit rock bottom, and through something beyond words, are able to find the hope for a better future. People seem to find a way and pick up what’s left and manage to make it better. Don’t get me wrong. All of us here have our down days. I am no exception. I have felt the heartbreak of my injury. But being here in the presence of people with so much hope, you can’t stay down to long. The hope here is infectious. Eventually, we all feel whole again. It just takes time. And I guess that’s the hard part.

Erika was here this weekend. I loved having her here so much. Having her here brightens my world in everyway. When she is here I almost feel whole again. The weight of this place disappears. The smile on my face gets twice as big. I could go on, but I won’t. She had to go back to Arizona today, and I already miss her. I am anxiously counting the days till she comes back. To those in Arizona tell her to study hard, stay focused and I love her.

Other than that the rigors of this place is pretty typical. I have my daily activities and requirements. My nurse, every morning, will ask me what’s new. I am living in a hospital. Nothing is new.

I had some guests tonight, which was nice to keep me up and moving. The Laugherys, Hiegels, and Royd came and spent a little time here. Tonight,it was really needed. Thanks. Marybeth:I can’t begin to thank you enough for everything you have done. I hope one day, I can.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on January 24, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

12 responses to “Hope

  1. Janis

    January 24, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    Joel,
    Hope, it is a strange and wonderful thing. It is always there but sometimes you have to look hard for it. I know the hospital can be a drag but remember there is always something new, a new day.
    Much, much love, Janis

     
  2. Bryan Yates

    January 24, 2007 at 8:49 pm

    Remeber Joel, Hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things, and no good thing ever dies. I will be hoping that this blog finds you and finds you well.
    I wish that was mine.
    What movie is that from?

     
  3. Dyan, Rick and Kayla

    January 24, 2007 at 9:44 pm

    Hi Joel,

    I read your blog often and I am sooooo happy to hear that you can flex your stomach muscles. Everyday, your hard work, will bring something new. I promise that I will write more but I seem to sruggle to find the right words. Our thoughts are always with you…

    Love you,
    Dyan

     
  4. Kayla

    January 24, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    I read your blog when I can im happy that you can flex your stomach muscles your probaly wondering how im doing in school im doing great and have good grades this is a shoker but I love math. Back to you im also glad can do that you know flex stomach muscles hope you can do something else each time you do therapy.

    Love,
    Kayla
    PS. Always thinking of you

     
  5. cuz paul

    January 25, 2007 at 12:05 am

    Hope is a gift. A gift of vision. Like the poet, who sees not fences and square feet, but the whole landscape. And like you, who sees beyond the steel and braces to truly view life and struggle and meaning.

    love, paul

     
  6. Peter Scanlon

    January 25, 2007 at 2:30 am

    “Hope is the feeling you have that the feeling you have isn’t permanent.”

    – Jean Kerr

     
  7. NORM BIEHL

    January 25, 2007 at 6:37 am

    GOOD MORNING MY FRIEND ***HOPE IS ETERNAL*** FOR US ALL WHERE EVER,WHAT EVER YOUR DOING IN THIS LIFE WE NEED HOPE AND THE DESIRE THAT COMES WITH THE FEELING……ONWARD THROUGH THE HAZE…..

     
  8. Erin Carson

    January 25, 2007 at 6:45 am

    Joel you are such an inspiration… so many times I have relied on hope and it has come through. Keep your spirits up and hope in your heart, and I have faith that good things will happen.

     
  9. Eric

    January 25, 2007 at 8:19 am

    Hope is everything – keep hammering it brother!

     
  10. Jason Burch

    January 25, 2007 at 9:03 am

    Joel,

    Keep the hope alive! You have inspired the lives of so many. Reading your blog is a fix in my day (as it is many others). I’m sure that you have moments of doubt, but it is truly amazing the progress you have made in such a short amount of time. It’s difficult to put into words our feelings for your attitude, strength, courage and progress, but you are an inspiration to all.

    Jason

    Jason

     
  11. Kim, Mike and Matilda

    January 25, 2007 at 9:40 am

    HI Joel,
    We read your blog daily. You continue to be an inspiration to all of us. Faith, Hope and Love are the building blocks of life. With all three, we can make it through anything.
    We hope to come down to see you soon.
    Enjoy the sunshine today.
    Kim

     
  12. MB

    January 25, 2007 at 4:22 pm

    Joel,
    You thank me with your heart…
    keep working, or as our family motto says:
    practice, practice, practice!
    Cheers,
    MB

     

Leave a Reply

 
