RSS

David Letterman Style

19 Jan

The beat rolls on here at Craig. Some people are moving on and going home. Some are just getting to hit their stride, and some are just beginning to get some momentum. I fall under the category of just getting momentum. I have been here long enough to know the following weeks schedule long before I recieve it. I still have a lot of work ahead of me, but before long I will be in the going home category. For right now I have to focus on getting the skills to get back on my feet and back into soceity.

I had a couple more visitors today. Matt Watson, Kathy Brent and Andy Copperberg came for lunch. They brought the always tasty Chipotle. So thanks for the burrito and your time. Marybeth and Colin Laughery came down in the afternoon for awhile. Marybeth is helping me with so of my HR related issues and her help is really, really, really aprecieated. I am always amazed how better I feel when I get visitors.

The last couple days have been pretty slow. I was so busy the first have of the week that the second half was pretty quite. I had sometime to spend with family and friends. I worked on some personal business. I didn’t have much to write about. So, here are this weeks top ten updates, in no particular order:

10) This thursday I am going to get accupunture for my back pain. I was talking to the doctor and I thought something other than pain pills may eliminate some of the pain I am still dealing with.

9) Many people have asked my predictions for this weekends NFL games. I am going with Indy, and the Saints. I am sure I will watch some of the games this weekend.

8) This week Rich Hiegel dropped off a folding card table for me. By the way, Thanks. I have been talking to a couple of people this week and we may get a game going sometime during the day tomorrow. It should be a nice distraction from our daily routines.

7) I have noticed that I am becoming similar to an elderly person. I noticed this week that patients sit around and complain about their pain medications, their bodies, and what hurting them today. The one difference here is many people talk about gains in getting their body back.

6) Last week I was hungry all the time. This week it has subisided some. Which is good. I gained 4 pounds last week. No comments on this comment.

5) Next week Craig is taking me to the Denver Science and Arts Museum. I am actually excited about this trip. I always enjoyed a trip to the museum when I was young and I am sure I will enjoy it next week.

4) I got a brace today that allows me to sit up-right in the shower, so I don’t have to lay down in a tub anymore. In the past, I kinda enjoyed just laying there as I got bathed. Like anything else it got old. So, this is a good thing. One more step in gaining independance.

3) I spoke with the PT today and she asked me what my goals for next week. I said working on getting myself into a car so I can leave the hospital and go to a game of some kind and she agreed. Colorado Crush here I come.

2) Today Colin Laughery came and played in our Friday afternoon game for wheelchair class. It was great to have him. But as expected, good ole’ Yoel still pulled out the victory.

1) My neck brace is scheduled to come off in a week and a half. Or two Wednesdays from now. I am really excited. This brace creates a lot of heat on body during the day.

So, that is my week David Letterman style. I hope all of you have a great weekend. And those that will be have a beer or a nice cocktail; tip one for me.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

11 responses to “David Letterman Style

  1. Bernadette and Gil

    January 19, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    Joel,
    Great bolg!! You are amazing. New career in the making as a writer???
    Enjoy the games and the football games too. Have a wonderful, relaxing and fulfilling weekend.

     
  2. mb

    January 19, 2007 at 9:10 pm

    Joel,
    You are indeed a man of many talents! I saw Dave himself in NYC with Ron, and I must say, I like your top ten list even more! 🙂
    Your rugby game was fun to watch, Competition is universal, no matter the circumstances. You played in the true Yates fashion, hard to beat, and a real jock! You look good, and I appreciate your attitude of wanting to keep your body in the best shape possible simply to help keep all options available.

     
  3. Colin Laughery

    January 19, 2007 at 9:21 pm

    Yoel -1
    Lockmaster – 0
    yeah, fine – Game On!

    This is week = #1/? – So, just wait. next week I am gonna bring some real practice and “reformed dexterity skills”: All from shooting the airsoft at moving targets in the garage (if I bring one for you, hide it from Momma Laughery, Momma Yates, and all nurses), also shooting some baskets at the Y, doing some suicide sprints on the court (that you taught me), and some good ol’ Yoga.

    Truly an awesome time with you today man. I am on the 25 hour plan to win one next week.

    Yeah, and this time my mom won’t “accidentally” 🙂 food poison me – therefore, I wont have any excuses.
    See you soon!

     
  4. Bry, Jess and Jamysen

    January 19, 2007 at 11:48 pm

    Joel,
    It is so nice that Craig keeps you busy and occupied during the week. I saw what your day to day agenda is like, and boy it exaughsted me just watching I can only imagine what it’s like for you.
    I am very happy that Erika (hi Erika!!) is going to be with you for a while. Did you save her that last cookie? If not more is on the way.
    Work hard on those transfers, especially into the car. You need an evening out with friends and family, maybe get some real home cookin’.
    I’m so happy you blogged today I was waiting all day. Checked it every 15 minutes 8) Like Holly said it’s like a day without sunshine when you don’t blog.
    Love, jess

     
  5. Laurie Marta

    January 20, 2007 at 4:51 am

    Hi Joel,

    Greetings from Alaska!

    I am following your progress. I noticed the other day in the comments that Bill said Alaska awaits you. So true! There is a lot to do here in this wild, beautiful land. You will love the Russian River Falls, especially when the salmon are running. The trail is wheelchair accessible. Also, Bill knows all the right spots for some fantastic fishing in the Kenai River. The next time you talk to him, ask him how many salmon he caught and released in one day last summer? All this and more awaits you after you have gained those skills you are focused on right now.

    Thinking of you and Erika, Laurie

     
  6. Debbie Royds

    January 20, 2007 at 7:18 am

    Hi Joel & Erika. Sounds like your days are full and exhausting – I think I would enjoy a nap much earlier in the day. Glad to hear that you are making progress toward your goals – keep your eyes on the prize! We hope to get down to see you on Monday afternoon – We have been trying to get down the last few Fridays – but it seems to have snowed the last 4! It was amazing to have one with no snow! Of course, it is Colorado, so that could change in a moments notice. Have a great day and we look forward to seeing you both.
    Deb & Larry Royds

     
  7. Eric Hansen

    January 20, 2007 at 8:59 am

    Joel – Keep it going brother, keep it going. John Wooden once said “Things turn out the best for the people who make the best of the way things turn out.” That’s your style and it’s what makes every single one of us proud to call you our friend, brother, cousin, son!

    See you in a few weeks,
    Eric, Amy, Brendan & Olivia

     
  8. Brandon and Erin Tancredi

    January 20, 2007 at 1:57 pm

    Hey Joel!
    It was great seeing you, hanging out and sharing good conversation. Your strength, positive attitude and energy are so amazing! Keep up your hard work and taking it “day by day” as you say. Hopefully you are enjoying a relaxing day with Erika (she is flying in this weekend right?) That’s great you are going to get an Acupuncture treatment, let us know how it goes. Everything about you is an inspiration and we look forward to seeing you soon!!
    P.S. you look good in a scarf!

    Brandon and Erin

     
  9. Mel Benedict

    January 20, 2007 at 6:32 pm

    Yoel, I like the style (and letterman has nothing on you). better get back to tipping a few, wouldn’t want to let you down. mel

     
  10. NORM BIEHL

    January 21, 2007 at 9:01 am

    ****GOOOD **GOOOD** MOOORNING** MY FRIEND GREAT THAT YOUR PARTNER CAME TO BE WITH YOU FOR AWHILE… ANOTHER WEEK OF POSITIVE PROGRESS FOR YOU ON THE WAY TO ***RECOVERY**JOEL**LOOKING FORWARD TO SEEING AGAIN SOON NORM & SUSAN….

     
  11. Matt Watson

    January 23, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    Joel,

    It was good to see you man. I will tip a great many drinks for you on the other side of the pond. See you when get back.

    Watson

     

Leave a Reply

 
