RSS

Nap Time

17 Jan

I realized today that nap time is a requirement. With all the training and activities during the full day, I realized I need a nap before dinner. If I don’t get a nap, I am done by 6 p.m. I don’t believe that this is a permament deal until I am adjusted to the rigors of my days.

Bryan and family were around today again. It was great having them. They brought me lunch from the outside. I had a fast-food burger for the first time in some time. For those wondering, it was a Good Times Burger. I will admit it was very tasty. So, thanks Yateses.

Overall, it was a good day. I am slowly feeling stronger and ready for the challanges ahead of me. Today was the same ole’, same ole’.

I was able to get Erika on the phone while I was in my nap. It was so nice to talk to her. It really brightened my day. However, I realized while I was talking to her that my down times are usually just after my day ends. During the day I am working towards something and gaining a sense of independence. But, once all that training ends, and I am left to myself, I get down. I wonder how this happened to me. When will this nightmare end? Can this end? I guess some of these questions are all about the process. Don’t worry though, I am still very optimistic.

After dinner, a couple of friends came for a visit. Dave Reed and the Trancedis. We cracked jokes and we talked of better times. We may even go to a game of sometime in a couple weeks. I have to get clearence first. though. This is something that I want to do and work towards. I can’t wait.

Erika comes back this weekend. I am so excited to have her here. I really do miss her. Talking on the phone every night is nice, but seeing her and having her here is so much nicer. Over the last year, we haven’t had a lot of time that I have been working in the valley. I dream of the day when I can go home and be home.

Well that all I got tonight. Have a great Thursday.

the-group.jpg

 
12 Comments

Posted by on January 17, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

12 responses to “Nap Time

  1. NORM BIEHL

    January 18, 2007 at 5:23 am

    GOOD,,GOOOD ,,GOOOD,,, GOOD,, MOOORNIG ,,,JOEL,, YUR WORKING HARD AND YOULL NEED MORE ,,NAPPING TIME ,,ILL LEAVE YOU WITH A THOUGHT FOR THE DAY**** ITS NOT THE MOUNTAIN IN FRONT OF YOU THAT SLOWS YOU DOWN………ITS THE PEBBLE IN YOUR SHOE….. N & S……

     
  2. Erin Carson

    January 18, 2007 at 11:39 am

    Hey Joel!

    Nap time is a great thing… don’t you ever think otherwise! You must be working super hard out there to get that tired- VERY impressive!

    I do have to say that you should be thankful that Craig is not in Minnesota. I love it here, but it’s so major cold right now! At least there’s snow on the ground… I guess. Breathe some fresh Colorado Mountian air for me! I miss you!

     
  3. recoveryjoel

    January 18, 2007 at 12:17 pm

    Hey bro,
    Number 3

     
  4. cuz paul

    January 18, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    Hey Joel,
    You are the real life Rocky Balboa! Are you swallowing raw eggs for breakfast? Can you hear those glorious horns? You got heart. All your love, all your power, all your strength. Don’t go down Rock! (unless it’s for a nap of course) This one’s going all 12 rounds!

    sending you body blows from the East Coast, you’re my hero.
    Love, Paul

     
  5. Matt

    January 18, 2007 at 5:19 pm

    You have a pretty rigorous schedule so you definatly earn those naps!!! I take naps and I dont do anything all day. Another Joe Dirt e` quote, “Life’s a garden, dig it.” Maybe a mullet is not indicitive of a lack of intelligence. Maybe your next hair style could be business in the front and a party in the back just like Joe?! Keep up the good work and daily updates, my day isnt complete without a new blog!
    Matt

     
  6. Bry, Jess and Jamysen

    January 18, 2007 at 9:13 pm

    We made it home safe and sound.
    We had such a hard time leaving you, but we will be back soon. Your attitude and determination towards your change is incredible. I believe your hopes and love for life will keep you strong and make you stronger. Keep it up!! I saw the everyday challenges you face and you take them on with an attitude I could never gather together.
    We love you and love to read your blog every day! Thank you for putting your deepest thoughts on the table.

     
  7. Uncle George and Aunt Elna

    January 19, 2007 at 9:52 am

    Hi Joel
    Don’t know how to top our guys with “pink water bottles” and “body blows from the east coast”, how about some snow and icicles from Rochester…that’s all we see when we look out the back window.
    We are always anxious to read your daily updates. They are so insightful. It helps us carry you around in our hearts for the rest of the day.
    It’s great to hear about your steady progress. Your hard work and positive attitude have really been an inspiration to us.
    Gentle hugs, G and E

     
  8. Luke

    January 19, 2007 at 12:27 pm

    Hey Joel,

    I can’t believe you went to a rodeo, and listened to country music! I never thought I’d see that day coming. Maybe I should send you a Garth Brooks cd to listen to during your workouts.
    I’m glad to hear your kicking but in the rehab. I liked the video of you rolling up the hill in your chair, pretty impressive man.
    Remember to watch the game Sunday night and be rooting for my Pats as they beat up on the lolely Colts. I’ll send you some Patriots memorabilia when we win the Super Bowl.

    Thinking about ya’
    Luke

     
  9. Gil and Bernadette

    January 19, 2007 at 12:36 pm

    Hi Joel,
    Just a quick note to say hey. Hope you have a great weekend with Erika…you deserve it.
    PS-Who do you pick – The Bears or the Saints?

     
  10. Phillip Yates

    January 19, 2007 at 3:08 pm

    Great talking to you today. You got heart man. More than anyone I know. I’ll see you soon.

     
  11. Janis

    January 19, 2007 at 4:39 pm

    Joel,
    Naps are good. In fact I will go so far as to say great. And you deserve them. I hope Erika will be there soon. That will really make you feel better, better than even a nap. Have a good weekend with her. Much love, Janis

     
  12. Janice

    January 19, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    Hey Joel,

    Still loving this site.

    I will comment on naps at the end of this message. First, I wanted to tell you that I did get your thank you card in the mail. I hate to say this but I’m not the best in writing personal thank you notes now that I have e-mail. When you actually get a hand written note, it’s very special. I love you for that but I also want to set the right expection for the future…….don’t expect the same from me.

    Keep up the good work. I plan on making a trip to Craig in the near future to give you a hug. It’s an effort because I don’t like cold weather or snow but you are worth it.

    By the way, Boo came back to Tempe to see Erika while she was home. It was hard for him to leave the beaches, fresh fish, Marley music and the good friends he met but he got a little homesick for family. If Erika does not come back for awhile he is planning a trip to Europe. How cool to be a handsome young cat with Las Vegas winnings on a trip of his lifetime. Actually, I still think he misses the Blonde in Las Vegas. Who knows what he will do when left alone for a period of time.

    Well, back to naps……I’m thinking they are great but not a lot of time to fit it into my schedule, Dave and Boo are regulars and swear by them. In fact, Boo invented the term “cat nap” and Dave invented the “power nap”. I’ll bet you did not know they were famous in some way. My thought is who needs a nap when you have caffeine.

    Well, outide of Jaime and Maximum moving out (but not the suff yet), there is no good gossip to spread from the Forwood house.

    Take care,

    Janice

     

Leave a Reply

 
