RSS

And I Finished with Nothing

17 Jan

Yesterday was the best I’ve gad in several days. I was strong and full of energy. I had a busy day yesterday. The morning was the toughest. I had Fit class, Phiysical Therapy, and Occupational Therapy, all in a row. And I got better at all three classes. I definitely didn’t leave anything on the table yesterday. It really brought my spirits up to do so well in all my actiivities.

My brother Bryan, his wife and new baby girl also came to town yesterday. I was able to see and hold the new baby. The innocence of a new baby seems to brighten everyone’s day. It’s great to watch my brother with his new baby and see him with all the pride in the world. I know he is going to be a great father. During my brief lunch time, I gave the family a tour of Craig. They also came down and watch me practice my wheelies in the chair and finished off with dinner. He is going to be around for a couple days and it wil be nice to have him here. The best part of yesterday with my brother was that Jess made some healthy cookies. Healthy cookies? Turns out they are made of flax seed, soy, and whole wheat. Only someone from Portland, Ore., would bring healthy cookies. But in all fairness, there were pretty tasty.

At dinner I noticed I was getting tired pretty quickly. I really felt out of energy. So I decide to that I am getting close to getting in bed for the night. After dinner, I went to the nurses station and asked to get help getting to bed. Due to reasons beyond my control, my specific nurse was apparently too busy. In typical Yates fashion, we decided to do it ourselves. I had been getting pretty good at getting myself out of the chair lately, and I only needed a little help. So with the help of the bro, I was able to get into bed as I wanted to. Of course, I fell asleep in minutes. I lay there for a while before my nurse had the opportunity to get to me. I still had my brace and everything else on. While laying there, I realized that wanting to get to be early is a good thing. It means I left nothing on the table during the day. I took every piece of energy and used it. That is a good day.

Before I forget again, I want to thank my cuz in New York for the Nalgene water bottles. What a great gift. I really needed a couple, because I can’t drink enought water here. Seriously cuz, did you have to send me a couple of pink water bottles. I even get crap from the nurses here. What, was blue sold out? Green to hard to get? Well I do use the bottle everyday, so thanks for the great gift.

This is to Erika, I’m sorry I didn’t call you last night. I was laying there in bed and really wanted to call. I promise I will call tonight. I missed talking to before I got to bed. I love ya.

Well I better go. I am writing this in the morning and I have to go to fit class. Unfortunately, I have to see the urologist afterwards — good times.

Have a great day everyone.

me-and-the-baby.jpg

 
16 Comments

Posted by on January 17, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

16 responses to “And I Finished with Nothing

  1. Eric Hansen

    January 17, 2007 at 9:17 am

    I knew you could handle it — tough guys wear PINK!

     
  2. Brian Dietzen

    January 17, 2007 at 9:54 am

    Sounds great joel. Way to leave it all on the table. days like this probably feel pretty damn rewarding, I just hope you’re not too sore the next day! I think I’m not alone in this, but I log on to read about you for partially selfish reasons. Your blog is a daily shot of inspiration, and you always come through with it. Thank you very much for that, and have a great day.
    -B

     
  3. Amy Hansen

    January 17, 2007 at 10:18 am

    I’m glad you addressed the bottles, Joel. I noticed a pink bottle in your photo from Monday and was wondering the same thing :). It sounds like you put in a full day yesterday and continue to give it your all. I check the blog every morning and look forward to your updates – Keep them coming!

    Take care,
    Amy

     
  4. Jill Theodorakos

    January 17, 2007 at 10:30 am

    Joel,
    Your courage, strength, attitude and determination are truly inspirational and the progress you have made is amazing!!!!
    Jill

     
  5. Matt Unger

    January 17, 2007 at 10:40 am

    Joel,

    Still try and check your blog everyday here at the office and it’s great to hear of you continually getting better. Hopefully you speed it up a bit as we could really use you back at the office, lol. Just kidding. Just hang in there and keep improving =-)

    Cute little girl there, it’s glad to see she’ll grow up with such a supportive family as you’ve talked about.

    Shoot us a line at work sometime if you get the chance.

     
  6. Peter Scanlon

    January 17, 2007 at 10:58 am

    Pink. Is. Sexy.

    Grrrrr. You a (pink) tiger. Heheh.

    Naw, just f*cking witcha, homie. Keep kicking ass. No doubt hard/good days are the same thing, and that kind of effort will make all the difference in your recovery.

    Pete

     
  7. Loren and Susan Melvin

    January 17, 2007 at 11:20 am

    Hi Joel,

    Great picture of you and the baby. I have a pink nalgene
    water bottle also that Darin refuses to take to work!!!!
    Keep up the good work. Brad,Darin and Loren all say
    hello. I hope you have a great day. Love, Susan

     
  8. Jason Burch

    January 17, 2007 at 12:17 pm

    Yo Joel,

    Looking good!! We are riding out a major cold front here in Central Texas that has taken out power (luckily not my home yet) to a part of the state. I have to laugh at how everybody thinks it’s so cold here right now. I will admit that the humidity gives it an extra bite, but it’s not much different than your typical Colorado winter day. All businesses are closed and nobodies at work (except me!?!). I’m reminded of the time that we were living on Matthews St. and the town shut down because of 2 feet of snow over night. Of course we found that to be an outstanding day to through a Hawaiian themed BBQ on our front porch!!

    Keep an eye out for a “Texas style” package in the mail. I’m assuming that your address has not changed since moving into the “East wing”

     
  9. Rich & Mary Hiegel

    January 17, 2007 at 1:42 pm

    So glad to hear you had a great day yesterday! I know Monday was not so hot, but you gotta love Tuesday. IMust be fun to have Bryan, Jessica and Jamysen visit. Hey, those cookies sounded good, – imported even. You really rate!

    Cute picture of you and the baby. Looking forward to your next posting. Always something new when we log on and it really is a priviledge to read your candid perspective. You are moving mountains and love you for it.
    Rich and Mary

     
  10. Rich & Mary Hiegel

    January 17, 2007 at 1:44 pm

    Just flipped back to the picture of you and the baby. I think she has more hair than you do.
    Mary

     
  11. Holly Bob, Andy, Liz

    January 17, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    Joel,
    Had lunch with Mama Hoss. I think thats what you call your mom once in awhile. Is she driving you nuts yet? Just call the Crestview Queens if you need her out of your hair. Well we are out of here for a few weeks. I’ll be checking the Blog as much as possible. Keep up the good work and make us proud. Alot of good things will be happening while we are gone. I am already getting excited about all the changes – like no more Darth Vader and I am sure you will be in charge of the place before to long. Give Erika a big hug for us. I’ll try to touch base tomorrow. Lots of Love & Hugs!

     
  12. Matt

    January 17, 2007 at 5:04 pm

    Joel,
    Read your blog today and its Amazing. Your kicking some serious tale during your recovery process. Lookin forward to stoppin buy next weekend, just got my plane ticket. Keep up the good work.
    Matt

     
  13. Janis

    January 17, 2007 at 6:22 pm

    Joel,
    You are doing so great. You gotta remember the Tuesdays to get through the Mondays. Hospital food, what can you say. It is probably better than it used to be but it gets old really fast. Takeout sounds like a good idea. Gotta keep up the strength. Much love, Janis

     
  14. Maggie Knight

    January 17, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    Hey Ass-Yole…
    Keep on fighting – we know that if anyone has the courage and determination, it’s you. I love all the pics and videos – please keep them coming. I remember you being hungry back in the day but that was for other reasons……
    Maggie

     
  15. Will

    January 17, 2007 at 8:25 pm

    Joel,
    That’s what we like to hear, keep up the hard work because I expect to be kicking your ass again up at lake Minnewaska soon.
    Will

     
  16. NORM BIEHL

    January 19, 2007 at 6:18 am

    *****GOOD**MOOOOORNING****MY FRIEND**NO PAIN NO GAIN PROGRESS SOUNDS GOOD !!!SOME DAYS YOUR THE BUG,,,SOME DAYS YOUR THE WINSHIELD,,,,, N & S

     

Leave a Reply

 
