RSS

Monday

15 Jan

As I found out this morning: Monday are still Mondays. Only difference is my work. I now work in rehab. This morning started off with an 8 a.m. OT session. And of course, I didn’t get breakfast ahead of the session. And of course, I didn’t feel so hot. But, with the help of the therapist, I was able to lift my self into bed and make some progress with my rehab.

The rest of the day dragged on just like any other Monday. I was tired, sleepy, and not quite mentally ready. Every time I made attempt to go to weight-training class, I realized I didn’t grab one thing or another. Needless to say, I was late to weight training. From there I had an easy session. I was on the electrodes on my legs bike — if that make any sense at all. I had this video on the other day, but no one could get it. I added it again so everyone can see it.

After lunch, which was great today, I was put in this contraption that stands me up. It is only the second time I have ever done it. I didn’t get all the way up this time, but maybe the next time. I would like to say that was easy, but near the top, I didn’t feel so well. My day ended with wheelchair class and a little exercise. Just like most of you at work, today was long, but we all got through it.

Mom, the Hiegels and Susan Macdonald brought some lunch here. It was, without question, better than anything the cafeteria could have made. I will say this: any meal that is not a Craig cafeteria made meal is the foundation of a great day. The bad news is that with the memories of a good meal and the realization of tonight’s dinner is not so good, makes tonight’s dinner even a little harder to swallow.

On another home front: For the last couple of days, I have been hungry non-stop. The doctor tells me it is a good thing and that it means I am a healthy person. I’m all for that. The bad news is: well, I am hungry all the time. And I mean I am getting hunger pains. It is at the point where I don’t feel so good because I haven’t eaten enough. I also see one other downside to this. I really don’t want to be getting a belly for eating too much.

Tonight should be a calm night. I’ll talk to Erika and see she how she is doing. I may also go down into the basement of Craig and roll around. It sometimes is a nice way to cool down and relax at the end of the night. Erika and I used to do it quite a bit when she was here, and I am finding I have not done it much since she left. Other than the rolling around in the basement, I may try to read tonight. I typically try every night, but when I lay down, the eye lids get pretty heavy pretty quick.

I guess that’s all I have for tonight. TGMIO, Thank God Monday Is Over.

still-standing.jpg

 
13 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

13 responses to “Monday

  1. Bry, Jess, and Jamysen

    January 15, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    We are on our way to see you!!! I made some chocolate chip cookies, and they have your name on them (I keep having to slap Bry’s hand every time he grabs for one). You make my day every time you write something. My Monday was pretty dumpy until I read your blog, and if you can tackle through a Monday anyone can. You’re the best!
    We love you, see you on Tuesday. Please don’t wear the Sun Devils beanie when I’m there, I don’t want to get too upset.
    Go Ducks!!

     
  2. NORM BIEHL

    January 16, 2007 at 5:20 am

    GOOD MORNING JOEL MY FRIEND ITS TUESDAY AND ONE DAY CLOSUSE TO THE WEEKEND AND YOUR FAMILY COMING FOR A WHILE………..KEEP ON TRUCKIN…….AND IN CASE YOUR INTERISTED THE…..RED WINGS….WON AGAIN LAST NIGHT !!!!!!!!!!!

     
  3. Matt

    January 16, 2007 at 7:02 am

    Joel,
    ‘Keep on Keepin on’ in the wise words of Joe Dirt e`. Hope today brings you more successes!! Iit really does make the day complete with a new blog from Yates. We all appreciate it in blog world… I never even thought I could even figure out a blog… just look at me now, irratating you with posting as often as I can!!! Take care and keep up the good, surely hard work.
    Matt and Amy

     
  4. Holly Bob, Andy, Liz

    January 16, 2007 at 7:04 am

    Joel,
    Tonights the beginning of another American Idol. You really must get with the Karoke down in the rec. room. I know what a great singer you are. Sounds like yesterday was a tough day. Going down to the basement is a great thing to do. Also reading all the inspirations on the wall in that section of Craig is good to do. Remember when the food gets unbearable you can always order out – I am sure there are some decent restaurant deliveries around your area. The nurses will know just who to call. Hang in there! It’s never easy. Just do it! I know you can. We are so very proud of you.

     
  5. Erin Carson

    January 16, 2007 at 8:25 am

    Well, you’re not the only one hungry all the time! I think I am eating every 30 minutes or so… it’s kind of sad. But we have to remember that the doctors are telling us that eating so much is a good, healthy thing! We won’t get that comment from a doctor very many times in our lives, so we should appreciate it now. 🙂

    Anyway, I am so happy my fam came and visited you on Sunday, and I wish more than anything that I could have been with them! When I come out in Feb. (presidents day weekend) I will bring some amazing food for us both to enjoy! We can have a little pig out party. 🙂

    I miss you so much, and push for you every day. Keep up the good work, even with those painful Mondays.

     
  6. Peter Scanlon

    January 16, 2007 at 10:06 am

    “Let me ask you something. When you come in on Monday, and you’re not feelin’ real well, does anyone ever say to you, ‘Sounds like someone has a case of the Mondays’?”

    “Lawrence: No. No, man. Shit, no, man. I believe you’d get your ass kicked sayin’ something like that, man.”

    Joel – kick ass as needed.

     
  7. Bill Wilhelm

    January 16, 2007 at 10:47 am

    Dear Joel,

    Despite the “grind” and the blah Mondays, it sounds like you are persevering through it all by finding some positives each and every day; some things to enjoy. Like Moms, visitors, blogging, football, cookies, and rolling around in the basement. Keep at it!

    So how you pickin ’em in the NFL playoffs? Do you think my Colts have an edge over the Patriots like the odds makers say? We’re still smarting about the Buckeyes!

    Hang in there, man! We’re all with you in spirit and prayer.
    Bill

     
  8. Eric

    January 16, 2007 at 5:39 pm

    J-dog,

    It’s great seeing your photos and short video clips…keep them coming. It adds to our daily dose of Yoeller inspiration.

    Be good,
    Eric, Amy, Olivia & Brendan

     
  9. Beth Hansen

    January 16, 2007 at 6:58 pm

    I can’t tell you what an eye opening experience this has been for me. Patients are never this honest with their therapists (maybe you are) because they always want to work hard, accomplish something each day in therapy even when it sucks. I know when my patients are struggling and that they are dealing with so much more than the physical struggle. And sometimes they even share how they are feeling. But never like this.

    You give me pause to think about making sure my patients have an emotional outlet somewhere and cut them some slack (every now and again), especially on Mondays!

    Thanks for your honest account of this experience, both the highs and the lows. It helps me to be inspired in my daily life both at work and at home.

    Keep it up!

    Beth

     
  10. Sharon Bodle

    January 16, 2007 at 7:18 pm

    I am amazed at the progress I see you making. Not that I don’t think you can do it, but that you are progressing so rapidly. Having photos and videos helps us see the progress much more clearly. Thank you for sharing. Keep after it, it is paying off!

    Sharon

     
  11. Bernadette and Gil

    January 16, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    Hey Joel,
    as always it’s great to read the blog and get inspired by you.
    You’re too young to know but maybe you’ve heard the song by the mama and papa’s- Monday, Monday. Was so bad they actually wrote a song about it!!
    Never have heard a song, Tuesday, Tuesday so thank God for Tuesdays!!
    Keep on with all the hard work and the daily updates.
    Enjoy Bryan, Jess and Jamyeson’s visit and Erkia’s return this weekend.
    See you soon.

     
  12. NORM BIEHL

    January 17, 2007 at 7:12 am

    ****GOOOOOOD***MORNING*****MY FRIEND**YOU ARE A VERY SPECIAL PERSON,,, KEEP UP THE HARD WORK..AND KEEP ON SMILING ***YOU ARE IN GODS !!COUNTRY SUNNY COLORADO** N & S

     
  13. NORM BIEHL

    January 29, 2007 at 7:04 am

    GOOD MORNING JOEL,,MONDAY,MONDAY AND THEY CALL IT STORMY MONDAY ! ! ! ! !GRAB ON FOR ANOTHER RIDE JUST DONT YOURSELF GET THROWN OFF ! ! ! ! OH…YES..YOU ..CAN.. N & S………

     

Leave a Reply

 
