RSS

Day of Rest and Friends

15 Jan

Sometimes I can’t believe all the support I get. I really feel very fortunate and amazed by all those who read, write in to my blog, and those who visit me here at Craig. I just want to thank every one of you for you support. It really is appreciated. Just look at today. The Laugherys, Hiegels, and Trancedis all came to visit. It was so nice to catch up and talk and think about something else other than Craig.

I also want to thank the Laugherys and Tancedis for their wonderful gifts. The Laugherys are just off a BVI vacation and brought me back couple of ball caps, a puzzle, and some homemade cookies. The Tancedis brought me a couple of great books and some wonderful cookies: P.S., I had a cookie for dinner and it was fabulous. So, thanks for all your generosity and time with me today, I certainly enjoyed it.

Today was definitely a day of rest. With all the strength training and therapy during the week the body starts to feel beat up, and today I gave my body the rest it needs. I slept pretty late today, on doctor’s approval, and took a nap on top of that. I do feel a lot better now that I am rested, of course, I am back to abusing my body tomorrow. I guess there is always next weekend.

I know I said I would have pictures today but since it was a short day for me I didn’t get any… Sorry. I hope all of you have a great Monday.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

10 responses to “Day of Rest and Friends

  1. mb

    January 15, 2007 at 3:35 am

    Joel,
    You never need to thank any of us for a visit…it is all of us that need to thank you for helping us realize what realy matters in life! Your friendship and your attitude mean so much to us all, you are an inspiration. 🙂 We all need to be useful in life, so just pass off those little things that need to be done and we will try to help out! We are looking forward to many more visits, and some good shared therapeutic recreation moments..
    Cheers,
    MB, Ron & Colin

     
  2. NORM BIEHL

    January 15, 2007 at 12:25 pm

    ****GOOOOOOOD** MORNING***JOEL** HOW ABOUT THAT MICHIGAN MAN **BRADY NEXT WEEK SHOULD BE INTERISTING***HAVE A GREAT DAY IN P.T.**OH YES YOU CAN***

     
  3. Holly Bob, Andy, Liz

    January 15, 2007 at 1:45 pm

    Joel,
    I am glad you took the time to rest. I am a big advocate of a litlle rest once in a while. So now Monday is here and time to kick butt. I don’t know whose butt your gonna kick but I am sure you will kick someones. I’ll be looking for something special for you while we are in NZ. Do you even like kiwi? It is acquired taste. You really do have an amazing support system. However I do think alot of the people in Craig might be getting a little jealous. So you might have to watch out for roadrage. Erika, we miss your smile and I’ll be bringing you back something as well. Take good care of each other! Try to stay out of trouble for the day.

     
  4. Beth

    January 15, 2007 at 3:18 pm

    Hey Joel,
    Now you spell my last name right, too bad you couldn’t do it when that attendance lady called :)!!

    It was great seeing ya, keep up the good work!

     
  5. Rich & Mary Hiegel

    January 15, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    So good to have seen you doing so well. Hey, that rest thing is pretty important to schedule. That’s when you body does its best repair and healing work. So, don’t feel too guilty for sleeping in on the weekends. You will be back at work soon enough and from the looks of it they throw a lot at you. You are handling it well and each time we see you a stronger Joel is emerging. Keep it up!
    Love ya lots,
    Rich & Mary

     
  6. Debbie Royds

    January 15, 2007 at 4:55 pm

    Good Morning Joel. Glad to hear that you are pushing forward and continue to get stronger each and every day. The rest is an important part of the healing process anad besides, those afterrnoon naps can be oh so blissful!
    Quote for the day “Consider the successes that came from tired, discouraged people who decided to give it one more try”. Keep working hard and know that you are loved and supported by a small army of friends. :-))

    Deb & Larry Royds

     
  7. Will Gilman

    January 16, 2007 at 5:44 am

    Hey Joel,
    Glad to see you are making even more progress and keeping your spirits up on the hard days. It’s awesome to see you bustin ass in that chair, and you better believe my eyes perked up when I read the word ‘rugby’ on here. You might be interested in checking out the movie “Murderball”, which is about quadriplegic rugby players. Anyhoo, keep up the hard work and know that we’re all still thinking of you here in the Ol’ Sota,
    Will

     
  8. T

    January 15, 2007 at 9:28 pm

    joel, i never would have thought of tgmio for the begining of the week grind called monday. keep up the good work even if the hosptial food is really bad. T

     
  9. T

    January 15, 2007 at 9:28 pm

    joel, i never would have thought of tgmio for the begining of the week grind called monday. keep up the good work even if the hosptial food is really bad. T

     
  10. Erika

    January 16, 2007 at 7:05 am

    Dearest shmoopy,
    It’s great that you take the time to recover after all the recovery. I know how tough the therapy can be Monday through Friday. Weekends without a schedule are truly a blessing. The house is cold and quiet without you, but I’ve been keeping busy studying for exams and classes that start tomorrow. I check the blog every night, and your vivid descriptions of your days make me feel like I’m still there with you. Your positive attitude and inspiring spirit help me keep my own. You’ll always be my big, strong mountain man. I love you so much, babe. Take good care of yourself and work hard; I’ll see you this weekend.

     

Leave a Reply

 
