RSS

The Grind II

14 Jan

What a great day. The Asmuths and Biehls came for a visit. I always enjoy visitors. The company of visitors always takes off the edge of this place. I find myself far more optimistic when people are around. It’s that I am not optimistic when I am alone, but I just feel more optimistic around people. We spent the day playing some Apples to Apples game and watching a little football. I even had take-out pizza. I haven’t had decent pizza in some time, and it was great.

Once the Asmuths and Biehls left today, for some reason, things changed. I had a bad encounter with a cafeteria person. My body also began to hurt and get tired. The pain of the injury is starting to get old. I am ready to stop hurting. The neck brace is not any fun anymore, either. But don’t worry. Tomorrow is another day and another opportunity to get stronger and better.

I really felt the grind of healing today. My healing will include good days and not so good days. Sometimes I will feel good and bad in the same day. I just have to focus on staying strong enough to last the entire day and fight again the next day.

I think I am going to stay short tonight. I am going to finish watching the NFL Playoffs and read a bit. I’ll get pictures tomorrow.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

10 responses to “The Grind II

  1. Colin Laughery

    January 14, 2007 at 3:26 am

    Joel,
    I’m really looking forward towards going down to Craig to see you tomorrow – long time no see. I pray for you, as well as think about you so much.
    Also, I say thank you – I have been checking this blog many times/day (every time I open my browser, this page comes up) – I’m having some difficult times – and your words always help bring me up and enlighten me on what is important.
    I hope you have an awesome nights sleep and God bless bro.
    -Colin 🙂

     
  2. NORM BIEHL

    January 14, 2007 at 3:28 pm

    GOOOOD,,GOOOD,,GOOOD,,GOOOD MORNING WAS ***GREAT***TO SEE YOU DOING SO WELL IN YOUR BRIGHT AND CHEERY EAST WING ROOM. YOUR GREAT POSITIVE ATTITUDE !!!!!!!!!! MADE BOTH SUSAN AN I FEEL GOOD INSIDE.EVERY DAY IS A NEW CHALLANGE FOR US ALL…. YOU ****GOTTA****BELIEVE

     
  3. Mel Benedict

    January 14, 2007 at 3:49 pm

    New adventure every day I see.. I have seen the horses (as a matter of fact, if I recall, there was also a bull) on top of the horse trailer at the National Finals Rodeo one year. I am sure that I was more impressed then you. As for the details of the “bad encounter” with the cafeteria worker, I can only imagine… (was food thrown??) enjoy the games today. mel

     
  4. Bob & Holly

    January 14, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    Joelmeister,
    Had a wonderful time yesterday. I can’t belileve that Norm and Bob won the game of Apple. They were not even paying that much attention. Men! Can’t live with them can’t live without them. Keep an eye on the Bears & Seattle – and New England and San Diego. Bob will give you a call while they are happening. Joel we were amazed at how much stronger you were this visit. Keep up the good work. I know it’s hard – but nothing good ever is easy. To everyone out there in Blog land. Joel is doing an amazing job, he needs our encouragement every day. He is ready for visitors especially on week-ends. I know people have been trying to give the family a little space. However it is time to gather the wagons and put up a good fight. All our love Joel.

     
  5. Matthew Powell

    January 14, 2007 at 5:50 pm

    Looked like the stock show was a good time, never thought someone would call it ‘phsycadelic’!! Hopefully your east wing accomodations will treat you well. just like every other day your still amazingly positive. Thank you for the inspiration Joel. Keep up the good work!!
    Matt and Amy.

     
  6. Karen Copperberg

    January 14, 2007 at 6:52 pm

    Hi Joel – snow again here. So happy to read your daily log – you sound so positive and upbeat, and I have to say, (as one of those “moms” – an old one, at that) you are really doing an awesome job keeping us all informed – esp. for a guy! Hehe – I know that it is sometimes a chore to try and express your feelings/activities/successes, but you are certainly doing an awesome job. Keep up the good work! 🙂

     
  7. Karen Copperberg

    January 14, 2007 at 6:54 pm

    Why is this showing I sent this at 6:52 pm, whern it is 11:52 am? Is my computer off?

     
  8. Robin and Dave ( flight nurses)

    January 14, 2007 at 7:00 pm

    Hello Joel,

    Dave and I are thinking about you everyday. Today is a good day for you to just kick back and enjoy football. Those tough days can wear on you…hang in there…and know that take out PIZZA is a good thing. Dave is sure it is a staple of life. I really do pray for you and Erika everyday…

    Robin and Dave

     
  9. Holly Bob, Andy, Liz

    January 14, 2007 at 10:19 pm

    Hey there Joelmeister,
    Had a great day visiting with you yesterday. You play a pretty mean game of Apple. That is for a guy. Can’t believe that Bob and Norman beat us and they were so cocky about it. Oh well! Could use a little sunshine right about now. I’m sure you could as well. Remember to water your bulbs. Take good care of them and they will show you just what they are all about. Maybe you might even learn to do a bit of gardening. Hey all you Bloggers out there. Keep the Blogs acoming Joey really gets a kick out of them. It really brightens up his day. Also he loves visitors especially on week-ends, They make the time fly by. Just give him a Blog or a call before you come. and with every day he keeps on getting stronger and a little sassier. Joel, hang in there! Lots of Love

     
  10. Brian Dietzen

    January 14, 2007 at 11:24 pm

    Hey Joel. though the Boncos aren’t in it, I hope you’ve had a great weekend of watching football. If nothing else, the Bears/Saints game will be great, even if we don’t have the donkeys to root for. Glad (though not suprised) to hear you staying upbeat.
    Always in our prayers,
    -B

     

Leave a Reply

 
