RSS

Moving on up to the East Side

13 Jan

I was at the Stock Show and thought about the tag line for tonight because, I, in fact, moved to the east side. This is the very first blog from the east side. Almost exciting isn’t it?

Moving on. Today was my first experience back into society since the change. FYI: I am calling my accident as the “change,” because it was more of a change in my life than anything else. Being back in society and looking at everyone’s butts and backs was certianly a change from looking at the tops of everyone’s heads. I thought that I would feel odd about the chair in public. But fortunately I didn’t feel any discomfort at all.

The rodeo itself was fun. I had been to a rodeo before, back in my Flagstaff days. The best part is that I only heard one country song. The rodeo started with this light and fireworks show that was mostly lame, but was also psychedelic at the same time. Don’t ask.

The most interesting part of the day was the bicycle I was hooked up to. To make a long story story short: electrodes are placed on my leg muscles and electricity moves my legs. I got mom to video it.

Before I forget, I have a new room on the east side and when I got back from the east side the nurses had moved my stuff already. And in classic mom fashion, she began to nest. For those who don’t know what I mean, she began to put the place together. She was organizing here and putting things here. Moms: God bless ’em.

The last bit of news, and I am done. I heard from Erika today that she will be able to spend a little bit more time here in Colorado and still go to school. She is doing a distance-learning program, and it will allow her to be here with me more. Hooray. I’m not sure on the how it all works, but having her with me is awesome news.

Have a great weekend all.

donkey-on-roof.jpg

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

4 responses to “Moving on up to the East Side

  1. Eric

    January 13, 2007 at 7:08 pm

    Joel,

    Phil is right on the money my man. You are an amazing person and inspiration to all of us! I’m not religious but I honesty believe that “things” only happen to people who are equipped to handle them. In your case, it’s the “change”. You’ve been a model of grace and determination when most would fold and feel sorry for themselves.

    I visit your blog on a daily basis for my dose of JOEL inspiration. Keep it going brother.

    We love you,
    Eric, Amy, Brendan & Olivia

     
  2. John and Juli Begley

    January 14, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    “The best part is that I only heard one country song”. What???? You don’t like country?
    Have a great day.
    Continually you are in our prayers for faith, courage and well being.

     
  3. Karyl Thurston

    January 15, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    Big, Big Hug Joel
    You’re doing great…sounds like lots of hard work, especially the games and learning to do stuff all over again, man it must be difficult… but you’re the champ. In the immortal words of Cher… “If you really want something, you can figure out how to make it happen.”
    Keep it going…

     
  4. Dyan, Rick and Kayla

    January 19, 2007 at 11:22 am

    Give us a sense of humor, Lord,
    Give us the grace to see a joke,
    To get some humor out of life,
    And pass it on to other folks.
    Mey you always have love to share health to spare and friends who care.

    Always Thinking Of You
    Love Kayla

     

Leave a Reply

 
