RSS

Change

12 Jan

Change… It is always happening. Sometimes it comes at you so fast you cannot react. Sometimes you see it coming at you from miles away. Today was a day I knew was coming and didn’t want to come. Tomorrow I am moving out of my current room and heading east. Here at Craig there is east side and a west side. The east side is for those who are gaining independence. I am moving to the east side. I am excited and nervous. Additionally, I am no longer going to be taken out of bed with a sling. Simply put, it is a big sheet that picks me up and drops me into the chair from the ceiling. This change is similar to the new room. Things are moving so fast, and I am still trying to understand what is going on. The bottom line is I am not mentally ready to gain independence. After the last month, I have relied on so many other wonderful people and I have adapted. But I am sure I will adapt back to independence pretty quickly.

The last thing of change here at Craig is that Erika has gone back to attend school and tend to some of her things. Her being here over the last two plus weeks has been so greatly appreciated. Her patience, help, encouragement, and support have been the large part of my success here. She has seen me when I have been at my lowest and seen me at my highest. I know she will be back soon, and I will be counting the days. For those at ASU, when you see her, tell her to focus and study hard, and I love her.

For those who don’t know, I have a class that teaches me how to use my wheelchair. A bit of a milestone today: I passed my first test. I had to hold a wheelie in one spot for a full minute. Up next is circling the gym with a wheelie and turning 360 degrees in wheelie.

I was in therapy this afternoon and getting really frustrated. I have this skill I am trying to learn where I balance sitting up. It is not quite as easy as it once was before. But I noticed that I was getting frustrated by the lack of success. Since the day I got here, I have been horrible at balancing. I didn’t get perfect at balancing at the end of therapy, but I got better and that is the important part.

Tomorrow is the Stock Show and then the weekend. When I first got here I hated not having therapy on the weekends, but now I realize the couple days off are great.

I think I have said enough tonight. Pictures tomorrow.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

13 responses to “Change

  1. Peter Scanlon

    January 12, 2007 at 3:06 am

    Time and pressure, homie. You’ll get there, no doubt.

     
  2. Phillip Yates

    January 12, 2007 at 5:19 am

    Joel. My brother. You are a true example of what people can accomplish if they put their mind to it, despite the obstacles. I am amazed at everything you have done. Amazed. Thank you.
    — Phill

     
  3. Diane Kingsley

    January 12, 2007 at 5:23 am

    Congrats on the move up. Remember “change is good”! I’m proud of the progress you are making, your hard work, and your positive attitude.

    I know Erika will be missing you as much as you miss her. You will pass the time with therapy and wheelchair class…she will pass the time with class and studies. The time will pass quickly and then you will be together again.

    We start another cold spell tomorrow with the highs only in the low 50’s for the next 5 days. Remember that’s cold for us! This weekend is the PF Chang’s Rock & Roll Marathon (40,000 registered ) and the Barrett Jackson Car Show.

    I’m excited because my best friend from Denver is coming for a visit tomorrow while her husband is hunting in ID. Too bad the weather won’t be nicer while she is here, but she may think 50 is good given the snow and cold temps you’ve had there.

    I haven’t talked to Brett since before New Years. Did he get over for a visit while Erika was there? I hope so.

    I’m still recovering from the shock of the poorest football game in history…OSU looked terrible in the big bowl game. I know a lot of fans paid big money for that game.

    Got to go. Know that you are in my thoughts and prayers. Hope you got the angel I sent you and she is hanging in your room watching over you and giving you encouragement.

     
  4. Brian Dietzen

    January 12, 2007 at 6:27 am

    The tough times sound really tough man, but where would we be without change? Never forget how many people are thinking of and praying for you at any given moment. Have a great time at the stock show!
    -B

     
  5. Bryan

    January 12, 2007 at 7:00 am

    We all know how important Erika is for your complete rehabilitation and it is safe to say that no one will disagree with that. Erika has been amazing. We all love her and are blessed that she has been there during the highs and lows.
    The other truly amazing thing has been your attitude and determination. That attitude and determination has got you to this point and will continue to get you through each day.
    After what I have seen you go through this last month I believe only good things will happen in the future. Believe brother. Believe.

     
  6. NORM BIEHL

    January 12, 2007 at 1:01 pm

    ****GOOD MORNING**GOOD MOORNING**GOOD MORNING**GOOD MORNING**GOOD MORNING** AND TODAY IS A GREAT DAY TO BE ALIVE!!!!! YOUR ONE OF THE LUCKYIEST PEOPLE IN THIS WORLD

     
  7. Matt

    January 12, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    Joel,
    I hope you have a great time at the stock show, wish I could be there man it really is fun, even if your not a hillbilly! This does seem like a big change for you, but if you merely maintain the same level of determination that you have had through the last two months you will tower above the new challange. Like everyone else here the first thing I do in the morning is to see what Joels up to and what new successes you have had, and everyday there is many. Thank you for the continual updates and good luck. We are all behind you 100%. I’ll be rollin into D town in about two weeks, lookin forward to stopping by.

     
  8. Ross & Amber

    January 12, 2007 at 8:13 pm

    You are an incredibly amazing inspiration! We think about you every day! The first thing I do every morning, is check your blog. I love reading about your progress and your fabulous attitude.
    We will be in PHX this weekend, we may be able to see Ericka if she’s around.
    Good luck with your move- I’m sure the change will be a difficult but necessary for your progress! Keep it up Yoel! You ROCK!!
    Amber and Ross

     
  9. John and Juli

    January 12, 2007 at 9:17 pm

    Hi Joel,
    Just remember all of us who are “with” you on a daily basis in other words……you are not alone. Your hospital stay, rehabilitation and Erika’s absence is all temporary. Soon you will begin the new adventure that God has planned for you. Again, I am honored and very pleased that our daughter has married into such a strong family unit. Keep up the hard work. It’s okay to be nervous and thank you for sharing all your thoughts. Guess who.

     
  10. Todd Lammers

    January 13, 2007 at 3:42 pm

    Hey Joel – The Skills on the Wheelchair sound very impressive! I cant wait to see a video of you pulling them off with ease. Glad to see that the western stock show was on the docket for the weekend. Thats always a kick in the pants.

    Well, have a great weekend (break), and keep the smiles and good spirit rolling. Your determination is amazing.

    Todd.

     
  11. Christy (Garvin) Sinkey

    January 13, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    Hey Joel,
    Strong work, friend. You’re amazing. My family sends their best!
    -Christy

     
  12. Marcia Arasz

    January 13, 2007 at 6:05 pm

    Joel, Your stamina and perseverance is awesome. I love checking the blog. You’re in my prayers everyday. Love, Marcia

     
  13. Bernadette and Gil

    January 13, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    Hey Joel,
    We couldn’t get the new video to download or get to comment on your latest posting Re: east side. But I couldn’t resist sending a comment on the visual I had of Rory fixing up your room while you were gone to the stock show. I bet when you came back it was like the best decorated, most home like room on the entire east side of Craig!! Everyting balanced and in THE right place. You’ll be the envy of all the east side residents for sure!
    True, you gotta love your mom’s!
    That’s great news about Erika being able to come back more! Really awesome.
    We’ll see you again soon.
    Bernadette and Gil

     

Leave a Reply

 
