RSS

Good Day, Hard Day

11 Jan

Most mornings are difficult. The day is new, and I’m back to the challenges of my situation. Some days it takes a little extra to get motiviated. What always gets me moving is that I cannot have the success I need without actually getting out of bed.

Today was good because I worked hard. I was having more back pain than I normally do, but the through the motivation of a special someone who cares for me, I was able to acheive more than I thought I could. I am going to bed early for this very reason.

This evening the hospital had a Bird of Prey show. A group brought in a number of birds and showed them off. I was certianly interested, and it was a nice break.

Erika has a Peace Corps friend here today (Courtney). She is enjoying having a friend here with her. So, they are off hanging out and drinking “Grape Juice” tonight and catching up.

I am definately getting stronger every day and the support and thoughts of all you are a big part of that. Erika too.

falcon.jpg

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

8 responses to “Good Day, Hard Day

  1. jessica

    January 11, 2007 at 6:10 am

    When we come down to visit I want to hang out and drink some grape juice with Erika. You guys are a perfect team. Keep up the hard work, both of you.
    Joel your arms have got to be lookin’ nice. I have a couple of good lines you can use.
    For example —
    Tell someone you got arrested last night.
    Most likely they’ll ask why?
    Point to your arms and flex and respond with—-
    “because of these guns” 😉
    I miss you guys and I’m looking forward to seeing you in a couple of weeks.

     
  2. Matt

    January 11, 2007 at 2:19 pm

    Joel,
    You define determination my man!! You see words like amazing, inspirational, pheonominal, dedication, on this blog almost everyday, Your effort really is all of those and many more. Even in hard times the Yates factor shines through. Good work and keep it up.

    Matt and Amy

     
  3. Holly Bob, Andy, Liz

    January 11, 2007 at 3:53 pm

    Joel,
    A day without your Blog is like a day without sunshine! Missed not seeing it for a day. Keep up the hard work. Also keep up the good writing. I keep wondering is this Joel writing?
    or is Phill secretly there doing it for you. Erika, has trully been an inspiration to us all. The both of you will conquer the world. Keep a smile on your face and a melody in your heart it sure is a good way to start the day. When your at the stock show you might want to go by the sheep shearing and get another buzz. Your hair sure does grow fast.
    Love ya, Holly & Bob

     
  4. Gil and Bernadette

    January 11, 2007 at 8:06 pm

    Hey Joel,
    I was reading my students a story today about MLK. There was a quote in this book I was reading and it made me think to send it to you.

    We who lived in concentration camps can remember the men who walked through huts comforting others, giving away their last piece of bread…they offer sufficient proof that everything can be taken from a man but one thing: the last of human freedoms-to choose one’s attitude, to choose one’s own way. – Viktor Frankl

    You continute to awe us with your determination to work hard on the daily committment to improve. The video of you going up the ramp was pretty amazing, until she said “Twice” then it turned from amazing to astonishing! Keep it up Joel.

     
  5. Jason Botterill

    January 11, 2007 at 9:03 pm

    Your writings and pictures are truely inspirational. Who would have thought you were such a good writer:) You seem very blessed with family and friends. Stay strong! Hope to see you soon.

     
  6. Beth Hansen

    January 11, 2007 at 10:47 pm

    You are kicking butt Joel! Nice job on the ramp. That looks REALLY HARD! Keep it up!

    B

     
  7. Brian Dietzen

    January 11, 2007 at 11:41 pm

    Joel, backwards, twice…really? wow. That looked like a pretty tough ride. I can’t wait to meet Erika, she seems like a perfect compliment to your inspirational outlook. awesome man.
    -B

     
  8. Allison Lammers

    January 11, 2007 at 11:54 pm

    Hey Joel,
    I have never met you, but have heard plenty of stories of your childhood — I’m Allison, Todd Lammer’s wife. I just wanted to let you know that you and Erika have been in our prayers. Keep up the motivation and positive attitude. I must say, you are in GREAT hands at Craig (as you already know)! When Jean told us that you would be transfering up to Craig, I told Todd you would be getting the “cream of the crop” treatment.” (I’ve been trying to a job there with speech-language tx for a couple of years, now!!!) Keep up the hard work — it WIILL pay off! Hopefully we will meet soon. I know Todd has been brushing up on his game skills, so we might be seeing you Sunday!

     

Leave a Reply

 
