RSS

Sitting up and Soldering Snowflakes

09 Jan

Today was a good day. Definitely a day of firsts. It really is true here that it is all about the small victories.

This morning in OT I was able to sit up on my own. I realize it is something that I did all the time with out thinking, but today was different — I had to work for it. Today was a victory or a milestone. I’ll admit, it felt good. I have included the video below.

I am slowly beginning therapy in “The Standing Machine.” It’s a chair that slowly straightens my legs and pushes my butt up vertically from a sitting position. It’s an interesting sensation that makes me dizzy and light-headed a little. They say many pass out from the treatment…. We’ll see.

Today, I also took advantage of an opportunity and made my own stained glass. I have it hanging from my light as I type. It is certianly not pretty, but it’s mine.

Lastly, I had wheelchair class today. Erika joined the goup and participated in hockey, relays and sprints. After her team lost, she had to roll backward down a flight of stairs in a wheelclair like everyone else. I had to go backwards down the same flight of stair and participate in a “train” for getting in shape. This is where I would drag five people down the gym, not easy.

Today was a fine day. Today was better than yesterday.


Me sitting up by myself for the first time in physical therapy.

standing-program2.jpg
The Standing Machine

chair-train.jpg
“The Wheelchair Train”

soldering-snowflake.jpg
Soldering my spectacular stained glass snowflake

unibomber11.jpg
“The Unibomber”

 
22 Comments

Posted by on January 9, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

22 responses to “Sitting up and Soldering Snowflakes

  1. Jessie Aufderheide

    January 9, 2007 at 4:30 am

    Craig seams like a great place for your recovery. It sounds like a little community focused on living and getting the most out of each day. I’m glad you’re in such a supportive atmosphere. I’m hoping to make the drive down to see you sometime soon. It may end up being some time around the BIG THREE ZERO! Keep up the hard work! Your progress is amazing so far.

     
  2. Ross & Amber

    January 9, 2007 at 6:56 am

    It is so good to hear all of the recent good news, Amber and I have been keeping ourselves updated on your progress, and think about you daily. You are in both of our family’s thoughts and prayers. I especially liked hearing about the rugby/football! Please keep the posts coming, and keep on being Joel. We miss you!

     
  3. John and Juli Begley

    January 9, 2007 at 12:38 pm

    A persons progress is limited only by their attitude. Your attitude is that of a winners…..so in our humble opinion, the sky is the limit for you.

     
  4. Matt

    January 9, 2007 at 1:45 pm

    Fantastic news buddy!! One step closer everyday, your progress is amazing!! Everyday I look forward to your posts for my daily dose of inspiration Yates style. By the way, that tie die looks great, I wear a medium if you have any extras-How would tie die look with a pair of wranglers?!

     
  5. Bernadette and Gil

    January 9, 2007 at 2:04 pm

    Good morning Joel,
    Great news. Each day is a milestone. One day better than the next.
    The tye-dye shirt you made looks pretty darn good!
    Good thing they have the Unibomber already in custody, the resemblance is uncanny!
    Keep up the hard work…we loved the new video.
    Hugs to you and Erika.
    Bernadette and Gil

     
  6. Holly Bob, Andy, Liz

    January 9, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    Hell-o Joel,
    The hint is that I beat you at Tabu. Whoooooooooooooooooo ammmmmmmmmmmmm
    IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII?????????????????????????? Just trying to replicate the way your mom was talking while she was playing the game.
    Always remember how competitive you Yates are. That will certainly get you far every day. Keep up the good work. We are all so proud of you. Try not to cause to much of a ruckus at Craig.
    Tell Dr. Balazy I have some old photos from Regis that I can blackmail him with. That should get his attention.
    Haave a great day! I don’t know if I would be wearing that Tie Dyed shirt to the Stock Show. You better find some Chaps and a Cowboy Hat before you go. Love Holly & Bob

     
  7. karyl thurston

    January 9, 2007 at 3:40 pm

    Hey Joel, it was great seeing the video of you “up and around” quite impressive!!! Wish I could be there to play games, always my forte, any Scrabble players around there? Keep up the good work …. Confucius say ” It does not matter how slowly you go so long as you do not stop”.

     
  8. Bill Wilhelm

    January 9, 2007 at 5:37 pm

    Hey Joel and Erika,

    Joel, I love the shirt. Reminds me of my crazy days in the sixties. Nuff said about that period. Looks like they are really putting you through the paces at Craig and that you are making terrific progress. Keep up the great work. That kayak trip in Alaska we talked about awaits!

    Bill

     
  9. Rich & Mary Hiegel

    January 9, 2007 at 6:00 pm

    Hey Joel,

    I particularly liked the picture of the chair train. You are the “Little Engine That Could”. Whoo! – Whoo!.
    They certainly have you doing a lot of activities. Seems like your day is booked solid. Good for you getting to a sitting position. You are making amazing progress and all of us look forward to your daily milestones. Keep ’em coming!
    Love ya,
    Mary

     
  10. Brian Dietzen

    January 9, 2007 at 8:21 pm

    Awesome Joel, it’s great to see your daily progress. The definition of inspiration. Dude, did you make that tye-dye? looks great. Thinking about you daily, and I’m glad to hear that the standing machine can’t make you pass out!
    In our thoughts and prayers
    -B

     
  11. cuz paul

    January 9, 2007 at 10:23 pm

    Rise up Brother Joel!! -damn hippie

     
  12. Karen Mixon & Family

    January 10, 2007 at 12:18 am

    Go, Joel! You are awesome. Keep up the good work. Sounds like you’re in good hands.

     
  13. Eric

    January 10, 2007 at 2:28 am

    Kick freaking ass! You’re looking good Joel. Keep it up!

     
  14. Carmen and Jason Burch

    January 10, 2007 at 2:36 am

    Wow, look at those guns! Looking good my friend, looking good! We are so proud of you Joel…we love to read your messages every day. Keep up your positive attitude and hard work – you are doing great! When is your birthday? Jason and I want to come see you and Erica sometime soon, but we thought we’d wait and come for your birthday. It’s almost time for the big 30! We love you both.

    Carmen and Jason Burch

     
  15. Carmen and Jason Burch

    January 10, 2007 at 2:37 am

    Wow, look at those guns! Looking good my friend, looking good! We are so proud of you Joel…we love to read your messages every day. Keep up your positive attitude and hard work – you are doing great! When is your birthday? Jason and I want to come see you and Erika sometime soon, but we thought we’d wait and come for your birthday. It’s almost time for the big 30! We love you both.

    Carmen and Jason Burch

     
  16. Sharon Bodle

    January 10, 2007 at 2:44 am

    Fantastic! You are making tremendous progress.

     
  17. NORM BIEHL

    January 10, 2007 at 12:22 pm

    *****GOOD MORNING***** JOEL HEY HOW ABOUT THE**RED WINGS ROLLING OVER THE AVES AS USUAL*** YOUR LOOKING SHARP IN THE PHOTOS GREAT PROGRESS **** KEEP *ON *TRUCKIN***

     
  18. Leigha

    January 10, 2007 at 6:26 pm

    Hey Joel,

    You’ll guess this right away, but here’s what a certain 5 year old prayed for you last night: “Please let him be healthy and let the hospital be good. Please let him not be allergic to anything and if he doesn’t like the snow, make it go away.” It looks like you’re doing great – keep up all the progress! You’re in our thoughts and prayers. Love, Leigha and Lucas

     
  19. Janis

    January 11, 2007 at 12:17 am

    Hi Joel,
    More and more progress every day. All the stuff you;re doing really shows what a good place Craig is. You will need to check out the stain glass I have done and we can compare tips next time you visit Minnesota. I will always have room in my big old drafty house for you and Erika. Much love, Janis

     
  20. Beth Hansen

    January 11, 2007 at 1:39 am

    I love the tie-dye shirt. Looks good!

     
  21. T

    January 11, 2007 at 5:46 am

    Joel, your stained glass looks alright, i’ve done art that has looked horrible. keep up the good work. T

     
  22. NORM BIEHL

    January 13, 2007 at 3:59 pm

    GOOOOOD***MORNING**JOEL AND A HOWDY STRAIGHT PARTNER FROM THE STOCK SHOW !!!CHANGES SO MANY CHANGES WE ALL FACE AND ALL FOR SOME GOOD REASON**** ONWARD AND UPWARD

     

Leave a Reply

 
