RSS

A News-Filled Day

07 Jan

Today was a good day. The Reed’s (Gil and Bernadette) stopped by for a couple of hours. I was able to get around and show them my current place of residence for the next three months. We talked about the old times and hopes of for the future. It’s always good to hope for a good future. I know I will be only limited by own attitude.

I also want to thank them for the sweatshirt and beanie from the Lefthand Brewery. I don’t know when I will be able to drink the beer, but when I do, I know it will be great. Tonight I have a shower, and the sweatshirt will be great to keep me warm afterwards.

So, there I was this morning creating a tie dye shirt for an activity. In the middle of my dying, I realize I have gone from building multi-million dollar buildings to creating tie dye shirts for my day. Don’t take my comment as a bad thing, just an observation. Just goes to show you how life can change dramatically in a very short amount of time.

Another bit of good news today: I am now able to completely lift my body out of the chair and hold my body up for a few seconds. It may not sound like a big deal, but it is, because it gets me closer to getting in and out of my chair on my own.

Another bit of news today. Erika and I were talking this afternoon, and we thought it would be a great idea if we had a game day on Sundays from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. So anyone out there on a Sunday looking to play a game or two is more than welcome to join us. There are a ton of board games to check out here at Craig, but you’re welcome to bring your own as well.

Other than that, I am writing and watching the NFC Playoffs and spending time with my favorite girl. Thanks for you support, I read your comments everyday.

tye-die.jpg

reedgroup.jpg

weight-shift.jpg

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 7, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

8 responses to “A News-Filled Day

  1. Jean Lammers

    January 7, 2007 at 8:38 am

    Joel, Someday you’ll be building multi-million dollar buildings again, but right now it seems you’re writing a book, and day by day we all get to read the next chapter ! And as in all good books, there’s awful adversity, ruthless enemies, and just when you think the hero is down and out, he pops up again the winner ! We’re impressed with your prowess ! Keep fighting and winning and we’ll keep praying for you to keep fighting and winning some more –’til you’re building those buildings again and life is –just normal ……. Jean L.

     
  2. erin, kyle, mb, ron & colin

    January 7, 2007 at 1:05 pm

    Joel,
    We will bring you some sunshine, your postive attitude will keep things bright! Can’t wait to get a good Joel hug in person…also looking forward to seeing Erika, hugs all around!
    Love,
    MB

     
  3. NORM BIEHL

    January 7, 2007 at 3:05 pm

    GOOOOOOD MORNING****JOEL**@ CRAIG** WE PLAN ON COMING DOWN ON DAY THIS WEEK KEEP ON SMILING**************YOU HAVE THE HEART OF A CHAMPION NORM @ SUSAN

     
  4. Patti Wilhelm

    January 7, 2007 at 3:25 pm

    Dear Joel,
    I read your blog everyday & I am always happy to hear of your progress. Your positive attitude is impressive & an inspiration. I don’t know you very well but am getting to know you better everyday. Gary is looking forward to meeting you. Our thoughts & prayers are with you everyday.

    Patti

     
  5. Uncle George and Aunt Elna

    January 7, 2007 at 3:44 pm

    Hi, Joel…Your daily updates are both enlightening and inspiring. In spite of many challenges and ups an downs, you maintain a positive outlook and work hard at your tasks. You will win in the end and be successful at whatever you try to do!
    We think about you and pray for you every day. Keep up the good work and the good attitude.
    Love and hugs to you and Erika, from Elna and George…

     
  6. Bill Wilhelm

    January 7, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    Dear Joel and Erika,

    The stuff on the plate in your picture…DON’T EAT IT!! It’s full of MSG and other harmful-looking food colorings!!!

    Sorry about your Broncos in the NFL playoffs, but you can root for my Colts – they’re an equine species as well!

    And I hope you guys are wearing scarlet and gray tomorrow (Monday) afternoon for the Buckeye – Gator match up! I don’t know about you, Joel, but my daughter will be rooting for the Bucks! Make a lot of noise, honey!

    Sports are great! I’m glad to hear you’re into weight training again. Working up a good sweat and pumping those endorphins into my system when I run in the mornings ALWAYS helps my mood and relieves my stress. Just do it!

    I’m with you two in spirit every day!
    Bill

     
  7. Beth Hansen

    January 7, 2007 at 6:18 pm

    I’m glad to see you are doing your pressure relief with Rory! Since you can lift yourself up you’ll be able to do it without help soon! It’s so good to be up to date on what you are doing and experiencing. How’d the shirt turn out?

    Love
    Beth

     
  8. Matthew Powell

    January 8, 2007 at 3:30 am

    Joel,
    Your lookin good man, and you’ll be lookin even better with your new shirt!!! Maybe if it turns out, you can start a new biz, Boulderites are big fans of tye dye. I am lookin forward to game day in a couple weeks when I get up to D town. Keep up the good work Joel and Erika, truly and inspiration.
    Matt and Amy

     

Leave a Reply

 
