RSS

Hard Times

06 Jan

I come to realize that the hard days…are in fact hard. I have had a couple of difficult days recently. The challenges of the day have been both internal and external. For me the healing is not just a broken foot. I have a lot of healing on the inside. Trying to understand what my condition means, and how will it effect my future. Where do I go from here? All these questions on my future and no easy answers. Fortunately for me, I have a partner that keeps me going and is here to listen when necessary.

The equipment challenges are ever on-going. I was given a new chair. It is a nice chair and fits me better, but the seat is angled into the back pretty steep. When I try to transfer on to a mat or bed it make the transfer more difficult. I have to really drag my butt out of the back of the chair for the transfer and I am just not strong enough to that. I will be able to do that soon as I get stronger everyday.

Speaking of stronger, I have a new class. It’s called Fit Class. All it consists of is weightlifting. Today was my first, and I was feeling the pain. I have not lifted weights in some time. It did feel good in that I was getting some exercise.

Before this day was over I participated in a competitive game of football. It was a hybrid between football and rugby. There was not holding back of anyone. I enjoyed it because it felt like old times. Erika was even able to get on a chair and play a little bit. Don’t say anything but I made her look silly. She would never admit it.

Lastly, I want to say goodbye to my old Occupational Therapist. I am being changed with a new one. You never can truly replace the first one. So, Thanks for all you help Holly.

See Holly below.

holly-and-i.jpg

 
13 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

13 responses to “Hard Times

  1. Brian Dietzen

    January 6, 2007 at 12:39 am

    I’m sorry to hear about the tough times man, but I’m also glad to hear and see the support you’re recieving as well. A friend of mine plays rugby with the USA wheelchair rugby team once and a while in Texas, and I’ve seen how much slamming goes on, so be careful! (though if you’re doing some major pumping at the gym, I guess those other guys better watch out instead). Keep your chin up Joel, you’re an inspiration, and I look forward to each post. You’re in our prayers.
    -B

     
  2. Bernadette and Gil

    January 6, 2007 at 5:04 am

    Joel,
    The feelings and responses you have are normal. You have been blessed with a supportive family, partner in Erika, and endless friends from around the country as we have witnessed from this bolg. You are a strong, positvie force for those around you and now you must be that way for YOU. Keep up the hard work and try to stay as positive as you can. You will make it though these waves of emotions…you know there will be more, honor your feelings and your needs as they surface. Know that you are in a place that understands what you are going though and has the resources to help get you though it. Stay positive.
    You are such an inspiration to us and we pray for you each and every day.

    Keep up the hard work, Joel. We’ll see you soon.
    Bernadette and Gil

     
  3. Mel Benedict

    January 6, 2007 at 6:20 am

    I like the hair cut. Hope you enjoy the rodeo…mel

     
  4. Will

    January 6, 2007 at 12:18 pm

    Joel,

    Greetings from the balmy east coast. Can you believe it may hit 70 degrees today. Damn green house gases. When I was a kid here in the Washington suburbs in the 60’s, we had the full range of seasons. Great stuff. Had tons of snow during the winter too. Al Gore kept trying to tell everyone, but no one would listen. Maybe it was his claim that he invented the Internet that people questioned his sanity. Looks like your getting plenty of the white stuff there though.

    I came across your blog on the DC site and read through the entire thing. Very inspirational stuff. Had me choked up several times. Puts things in perspective and makes you give thanks for what you have. You’ve made some amazing progress and I’m sure with your attitude, you’ll come out this stronger than ever. Never give up.

    With this crazy weather today, I’m going to break out the Fat Chance and go riding today. Will keep you in my thoughts and check back often.

    Take care.

    Will

     
  5. Eric

    January 6, 2007 at 2:38 pm

    Joel,

    The progress you’ve made to date is incredible. Keep pushing and good things will come.

    We think of you every single day and can’t wait to see you in Feb.

    Be good,
    Eric, Amy, Brendan & Olivia

     
  6. Janis

    January 6, 2007 at 3:28 pm

    Joel,
    The hard times, you can do it. You’re the man who moves rocks. Just like your Mom always said, “I can always count on Joel to move rocks for me”. This is the biggest damm rock you will ever move, but you can do it. Much love, Janis

     
  7. Holly Bob, Andy, Liz

    January 6, 2007 at 4:45 pm

    Joel & Erika
    Looking forward to seeing you both Sunday.
    You can do anything!!!
    I’ve seen you grow from a young boy to a wonderful young man. We are so proud of all you have accomplished. Joey this is not going to be easy, as you well know. You have alot of incredible inspiration all around you at Craig take that and hold on to it. Remember only one day at a time. That is the one thing that keeps us going. Lots of Love, Holly & Bob

     
  8. Matt

    January 6, 2007 at 6:47 pm

    Joel,
    Even when times are tough, your positivity comes through in every message. Keep up the good work and good things will happen.
    Matt and Amy

     
  9. Colin Laughery

    January 6, 2007 at 8:10 pm

    Joel,
    I am lookin real forward to seeing you next week man… We get back to CO on Monday and I am makin’ sure that Momma Laughery gets the best goods of the Brit west indies for you. Let me know if you got any special requests. Good times are to come for sure. See you soon bro!

     
  10. Peter Scanlon

    January 6, 2007 at 10:10 pm

    Are all the OT’s hot? Just curious…

    Pete

     
  11. Rich & Mary Hiegel

    January 6, 2007 at 10:37 pm

    Hey Joel & Erika,

    With all the pumping of iron, you are going to be massive. I was so impressed with your first day of chair skills, that on my next visit I can only imagine what they’ll have you doing next. You were awsome and really had a short learning curve for the wheelies and catching your balance. Keep the faith, you are doing great. I know there will be some hard days, but keep you head down and work through it. You can do it. I bet you are looking forward to you outing at the Stock Show. Yee Haw!
    Love ya,
    Mary

     
  12. Maggie Knight

    January 6, 2007 at 11:52 pm

    Hey Yole –

    You are amazing – cannot believe all the progress you are making in such a short time. Keep doing what you’re doing – what an inspiration you are. All our love, thoughts and prayers –
    Maggie and Jessica

     
  13. Debbie Royds

    January 7, 2007 at 3:09 am

    Hey Joel. Loved the wheelie. That sure does take some skill. Take one day at a time – your courage is an inspiration to all of us who taend to take even a shower for granted. You sure do have a lot of cheerleaders on the sidelines rooting for you! Hope to see you this week – weather depending! Sounds like more sonw for the end of thewek. Hope you enjoy the stock show!
    Yippe i oh kay yeah!
    Deb & Larry Royds

     

Leave a Reply

 
