RSS

The Grind

04 Jan

Life is beginning to find its grind. Back to schedules, appointments, and similarities.

There is always something new to learn here. I feel just so overwhelmed by the all the new information. Fortunately for me, I am in a great place that is not letting me forget any of it.

The good news is I did get a new brace for my back (I look like a Storm Trooper). I am going from a neck and back brace to one brace for both. It fits pretty well, if not better than the two I had before. The second bit of good news is that I don’t have to wear the neck brace at night anymore. The bad part of the good news is that I now spend 80 percent of my day in the chair now. I can’t say how long I will have the back brace, but it sounds like for at least a month and a half.

Other than that, it was a pretty good day. I found out I am going to the National Western Stock Show next week. It is pretty much a rodeo. Good times.

I also had a group of guests. It was nice to the have the visitors. I felt bad I didn’t give them much attention, but I do have therapy to complete. Nonetheless, it was great to see Erin, Lemoine, and Mary. I also want to thank you for the book and chocolate. I had a piece for desert tonight and it was glorious.

See below for my wheelie.

wheelie.jpg

 
15 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

15 responses to “The Grind

  1. Jessie Aufderheide

    January 4, 2007 at 5:10 am

    Nice wheelie! Is that a basketball court behind you?
    That’s great that you don’t have to sleep with the neck brace on anymore. That must be a BIG step in the right direction! Have fun at the stock show.

     
  2. NORM BIEHL

    January 4, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    Gooooood****MORNING******jOEL*****@craig FOR SOME STRANGE REASON COULDNT GET ON PAST FEW DAYS************YOU GOTTA BELIEVE***************

     
  3. Matt Unger

    January 4, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    Good to see that you are doing so well and making a good recovery so far.

    if you can stand a good laugh, knowing you are an outdoorsy type and all, hope this can give you a good chuckle at the expense of a few messed up spiders

     
  4. Matt

    January 4, 2007 at 3:01 pm

    Lookin like a smooth operator with the wheelie and all!! I hope you have fun at the stock show, i am a little jelous frankly! You do know they have a dress code right?? Pearl snaps, cowboy hat and boots… lookin forward to seein those pictures. Seriously, its great to see the progress you are making every day. Keep up the good work!!

     
  5. Jennifer, Steven & Christopher Bishop

    January 4, 2007 at 4:08 pm

    Nice!!! Way to go Joel. Can’t wait to come see you, maybe tomorrow for a short visit?? Take care and keep going, you are such an inspiration!!!

     
  6. Amber

    January 4, 2007 at 8:01 pm

    The wheelie looks awesome!! Are they allowed? ha! Your progress sounds great! All of us back in AZ and CA are thinking of you! Keep on keepin’ on! I love reading about what you are doing and thinking you have wonderful insight and the best atittude!
    love,
    A

     
  7. Eric

    January 4, 2007 at 11:49 pm

    Nice work J! The new buzz is looking good.

    Keep up the hard work and keep the updates coming…we look forward to them everyday. See you in a few weeks.

     
  8. Peter Scanlon

    January 5, 2007 at 12:15 am

    I’ll work on finding an appropriate storm trooper helmet for you. Gotta cover that dome with something that matches your brace. Think they still have some left after the Rose Bowl Parade this year…

     
  9. Joanne Slavin

    January 5, 2007 at 1:58 am

    Those Thurston girls sure know how to cut hair – hard to believe that Will has essentially a buzz – all those years with his mohawk. Pretty soon he will be joining a fraternity.

    Glad you are getting out to the rodeo – just watch those wheelies around the horses.

    Greet your mommy for us.

     
  10. Beth Hansen

    January 5, 2007 at 2:35 am

    I never could master a wheelie! That’s a great chair. You’re looking good. Keep it up.

     
  11. Diane Kingsley

    January 5, 2007 at 4:06 am

    Just noticed your cool shoes – can’t remember their name, but they are all the rage and supposedly very comfortable.

    Glad to hear you are adjusting to your new “toys” – wheel chair and braces.

    In all my years in Denver, I never made it to the Stock Show. It’s always in January and it’s a BIG deal – lots of people go. Have fun and let me know if I blew it all those years by not going!

    Since you are a football fan, I hope you got to watch the other Broncos (Boise State) play in the Fiesta Bowl. It was an incredible game – one of the best I’ve ever seen (topped only by the Ohio State vs. Miami game 3 yrs ago for the National Championship that went to 2 or 3 OTs). Sorry that the Denver Broncos didn’t make the play offs.

    Starting to get excited about the upcoming OSU / Florida game. I certainly hope the Buckeyes fare better than Michigan did in the Rose Bowl! I fully expect you and Erika to watch and cheer for the Buckeyes!

     
  12. John and Juli Begley

    January 5, 2007 at 4:44 am

    Dear Joel and Erika. First I want to commend both of you for the strength and fortitude that you exhibit on a daily basis… wow… what an inspiration. I would also like to thank you for sharing your feelings, hopes, fears, progress and pictures with all of us in Internet land. This is really special and I want to thank you for letting us be a part of that as well. I have learned more from the two of you than I have from anyone else in a long, long time. Again, what a true inspiration you have become to our family. You both have a lot of moxie =) and are highly regarded by all of us. You continue to be in our daily prayers and thoughts. I hope you enjoy the Rodeo… we have some fantastic ones here in San Antonio and would love to have you visit…perhaps with Bryan, Jess and Jamysen.

    Keep on doing what you are doing… and keep the forward momentum. Everyday we check up on you two. Love the photos!!!

    Juli and John

     
  13. Holly Bob, Andy, Liz

    January 5, 2007 at 3:13 pm

    Dear Joel and Erika,
    Can you believe it – more snow! Oh Well , at least its pretty to look at. The two of you are in our thoughts daily. So proud of the both of you! Remember one day at a time. I know you both must be exhausted from all the hard work. Hang in there! Bob and I are hoping to come down on Sunday. Hopefully you can fit us in on your appointment book. Also to anyone that is coming down to visit. Be sure that you are healthy, nobody needs to be getting a cold or flu bug. Look forward to seeing you both on Sunday. If there is anything you guys want us to pick up for you, just holler.
    Love ya, Holly & Bob

     
  14. Leigha

    January 5, 2007 at 7:07 pm

    Lucas has discovered that by saying long prayers at night he can delay bedtime, so Joel, you’re getting a lot of prayers from our house. It’s cute, he prays for you and the hospital you’re in. Keep up all the great work – the pictures of you on this blog are great! I’ll send some of Lucas’ artwork so you can decorate your room. He’s a great artist (as he tells everyone he meets). Take care! You’re in our thoughts and…sleepy prayers. Love, Leigha and Lucas

     
  15. Sharon Bodle

    January 7, 2007 at 2:09 am

    It is so good to see your progress. The new wheelchair looks great. Poppin’ wheelies is rather cool. The “Denver” stock show was always the winter highlight for folks up in Cheyenne to venture to back in the early 70’s. We enjoyed our years in Cheyenne and made every Cheyenne Frontier Days while there, but we never made it to the stock show. I’m rather envious. Hope you enjoy it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
