RSS

New Beginnings

02 Jan

Today is a day of new beginnings. A new haircut, a new year, a new shave, and a new chance to get get better.

I want to wish everyone a very happy and safe 2007. All of you are in my thoughts. Except when I am in Rehab. That takes quite a bit of focus.

Today the Asmuths came down for a visit. Bob, Holly and Liz all made the trip. It was so nice see them. I also had Justin A. with Tucker and pregnant Danelle. Matt W. joined the Augustaitus family on the trip to Denver. So we sat around the cafeteria ate lunch and enjoyed the company of each other. For me it was a nice break from the challenges of everyday life.

After lunch we went up to my room and completed my haircut. For the first time in my life, I have a buzz cut. I figured with my melon I would look silly. But, I actually look pretty damn good. Well, as best for me. It will be nice to have less hair. I sweat quite a bit in the middle of the night. During the day my rehab gets me really sweaty too. All that sweat gets my hair pretty nappy. I am providing pictures today for every one.

Tomorrow rehab is back. Over the last couple of days, I have been exercising on my own with Erika. She is pretty relentless with me. I get in the gym and work my arms pretty hard. A couple days ago, I had problems sleeping because of my back and arms. Come tomorrow I am ready to get back to the demands of getting back and up on my own.

I was looking at my schedule today and anyone wanting visit, it would be best if you were to come between 11:30 a.m and 2 p.m. I can’t wait to see all of you.

Well, I will finish this because a picture is worth a thousand words.

visitors-group-photo.jpg

The Makings of a Great Haircut

justin-haircut.jpg

newyears.jpg

One More…

with-complete-haircut.jpg

 
13 Comments

Posted by on January 2, 2007 in Previous Posts

 

13 responses to “New Beginnings

  1. Bryan Yates

    January 2, 2007 at 4:41 am

    The new dome looks awesome. SEXY!!

     
  2. Jessica

    January 2, 2007 at 5:48 am

    Did you and Justin plan this out, to have the same hair cut? Well, you are looking pretty damn good, chicks dig buzz cuts!! Right Erika? See y’all soon!

     
  3. Diane Kingsley

    January 2, 2007 at 8:57 am

    Joel, I like the new look…maybe you can inspire Brett to do the same with this maingy (sp?) hair. I haven’t seen it in a couple months, but I know it’s bad since he doesn’t get haircuts. His hair is thick and very curly. He’s planning on visiting, so see for yourself and feel free to offer your mom’s services!

    Keep up the good work in rehab. Remember “no pain, no gain”.
    I’m so glad to be done with PT after 3 months on my hand and 3 months on my shoulder, so I know somewhat what you are going through.

    Happy New Year!

     
  4. Amy

    January 2, 2007 at 1:26 pm

    Hi Joel. I really like your new cut – It looks great! You’re right, it’s tough to tell who can pull of a buzz cut until you do it, but it looks really good on you! Eric and I just booked tickets for Denver last night – We’ll be out in early February and are looking forward to seeing you.

    Take care, and keep up the good work in rehab. It sounds like a tough program.

    Happy New Year!

    Amy

     
  5. Eric

    January 2, 2007 at 1:38 pm

    Looking sharp my man. See you soon and keep up the hard work.

     
  6. Peter Scanlon

    January 2, 2007 at 7:33 pm

    Momentary Mohawk = priceless!

    Pete

     
  7. Jason Burch

    January 2, 2007 at 8:47 pm

    LOOKIN GOOD BRO!!!!!

     
  8. Matt

    January 2, 2007 at 9:23 pm

    Nice fro, or lack there of! looking smooth big rigger’.

     
  9. beth hansen

    January 2, 2007 at 10:59 pm

    now if we could only get paul to cut his hair. perhaps your new good looks will inspire him!

     
  10. cuz paul

    January 2, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    Damn it Joel. Why do you have to look so good?

     
  11. Uncle George and Aunt Elna

    January 3, 2007 at 12:19 am

    Happy New Year! Keep the awesome notes and pictures coming. We agree you’re one of those who can handle the “buzz”. Reminds George of his high school and college days…easy maintenance for sure. Keep up the hard work with your therapy army and enjoy all your visitors, too. We’re sending the first wave of the Rochester crew (Eric and Amy) out soon. We think about you and pray for you every day out here.
    Love and hugs, Elna and George…

     
  12. Jessie Aufderheide

    January 3, 2007 at 3:06 am

    Happy New Year Yoel! You look ready to take on the world. Jessie

     
  13. Dominic Lovely

    January 13, 2007 at 1:27 am

    I am a firm believer in the buzz cut, its both economical and sanitary:)
    I’m glad to see you sport it with such grace.
    Welcome to the club.
    Dom

     

Leave a Reply

 
