RSS

Small Victories

29 Dec

Today was a day of small victories: a shave, a haircut, a longer time in the chair. I suppose that is what my life has become for the time being — focusing on the daily victories that keep me moving forward. I try to keep the hope by thinking about being back home in Tempe, Ariz., back to the daily grind. My success here is driven by that vision every day.

Since I have been in Arizona for several years, it was a nice treat to watch the snow fall here in Colorado. Fortunately for me, I don’t have to drive around in this stuff — small victory.

I’ve gotten to know my roommate David some more today, which is nice. He’s been here for a little while longer, and I’m learning some of the ropes from him.

I saw today that the number of site hits passed 10,000. It is comforting to know that so many people are concerned and supportive through this. Thank you for all your support.

Even though I cut off a lot of hair today, it is not yet a full buzz. But, by this weekend the rest will be gone. I’ll keep the photos coming.

See pictures below.

— Joel

day-1-pt.jpg

erika-and-joel-snowy-day.jpg

Ma cutting my hair

 
13 Comments

Posted by on December 29, 2006 in Previous Posts

 

13 responses to “Small Victories

  1. Ken

    December 29, 2006 at 3:35 am

    Hey Joel, I see you’ve still got them Crocks on your feet. Some thngs never change.

     
  2. Bryan Yates

    December 29, 2006 at 4:39 am

    Looking good. I like the new haircut. Your almost as good looking as me! The hat is on the way. I want to give you my broncos beanie, but Jessica wants you to wear the Ducks. Which one will prevail?

     
  3. Jessica

    December 29, 2006 at 5:01 am

    You are lookin’ good!! We need to get you a beanie from Tempe, home of the Sun Devils, forget the Ducks, I believe the Devils had a better record anyways. You will be back in Tempe soon eating a double-doule, animal style ; )
    Keep that big grin on your face.
    Love you!! Jess

     
  4. karyl thurston

    December 29, 2006 at 3:21 pm

    Hey Joel, Sorry I missed you last week, but I’ll try and get back there real soon. Finally, you can start the rehab and focus all your energy on getting better every day. Much success!! Big Hug.

     
  5. NORM BIEHL

    December 29, 2006 at 3:52 pm

    GOOOOOOD MORNING JOEL @ CRAIG IN SUNNY DENVER LOOKING FORWARD TO COMINIG TO VISIT YOU SUSAN & NORM

     
  6. Clay

    December 29, 2006 at 4:34 pm

    Hi Joel. Glad you were able to make it to Denver between storms. It snowed 12 inches in the mountains outside of Tucson yesterday. Now dad (Craig) says he has to move further south….

     
  7. "Popplewell"

    December 29, 2006 at 6:00 pm

    Love the Croc’s, just got a pair for me. . . . Keep up the good work on the therapy! We are thinking of your, praying for you and checking the website daily for updates! 🙂

     
  8. Jason Burch

    December 29, 2006 at 6:10 pm

    You look great, I like the new look, you clean up nicely!!

     
  9. Lacy

    December 29, 2006 at 7:24 pm

    Glad to see that you made it to Craig’s safely and that you are continuing to make excellent progress.

    I just wanted to wish you and Erika a very Happy New Year.

    Take care and god bless!!

    -Lacy

     
  10. Peter Scanlon

    December 29, 2006 at 8:48 pm

    Joel,

    Great that you’re getting settled in – though we are shocked about the hair. Is that out of consideration for your upcoming boot-camp experience with PT/OT?

    Any rate, good luck with them physical therapists; I hear they’re repressed dungeon torture-types, but I know you’re more than up for it.

    Keep on kickin’ ass, homie.

    Pete/Alison

     
  11. cuz paul

    December 29, 2006 at 9:50 pm

    Hey, I liked the long hair…

     
  12. Jessie Aufderheide

    December 30, 2006 at 1:05 am

    You look good Joel, but then again, I wouldn’t expect anything less.

    Jessie

     
  13. Janis

    December 30, 2006 at 1:56 am

    Joel,
    As Billy Crystal used to say “You look marvelous”. Too old of a reference? Ask your mom for how to say it. Keep those pictures coming. And send some of your snow Minnesota way. We’ve got nothing. Much love, Janis

     

Leave a Reply

 
