RSS

I am happy to be writing again

22 Dec

It is another long day here in the hospital. Today has been a good day. I spend quite a bit of time working on my arm strength, and it is coming back well. With Erika here, it makes my rehab easier. I suppose with her being here, it makes everything a little eaiser. I am ready to make the move to Denver, but I know it will be difficult when I get there. I should remember the old adage: No Pain, No Gain.

Being in my position I have realized how the little things seem so much more important. The pleasure of getting out of bed in the morning and starting the day with a warm coffee. Or the morning or afternoon shower. I have missed a warm shower. A walk through the neighborhood. I am sure you get the picture. I do not know when I will be able to get back to my original life, or a similar version, but when I get there I will never take a hot shower for granted again, or a walk through the neighborhood, or laying in bed with my special someone for an extra hour on a Saturday morning.

It is my plan to write on a daily basis from here on out. I would love for all of you out there to join me in the road to recovery.

I hope all of you get to your holiday locations safe and healthy.

Talk to all of you soon.

— Joel

 
20 Comments

Posted by on December 22, 2006 in Previous Posts

 

20 responses to “I am happy to be writing again

  1. Ken

    December 22, 2006 at 9:28 pm

    Joel,

    Jenny and I send our love to you and your family. You are in our thoughts and prayers.

    KB

     
  2. Luke

    December 22, 2006 at 10:15 pm

    Joel,

    I’m glad your up and going again so soon, and are able to type up your recovery status. It sounds like you’re doing really well and I know you’ll be back to hiking around and biking to the bars before you know it…I know you can do it bud.

    It’s cool you’re going back to CO as I will definately be out to visit soon. Have a great Christmas wtih Erica and keep the updates coming.

    Your East Coast man

     
  3. Christy (Garvin) Sinkey

    December 22, 2006 at 10:52 pm

    Hey Joel,

    Beef sent me your blog link today. I was so sorry to hear of your accident! I wish you all the best during your recovery, and hope you and your family have a Merry Christmas.
    Good luck – and keep on truckin’!
    Christy

     
  4. Jason Burch

    December 22, 2006 at 11:19 pm

    Joel,

    You are a true inspiration. We will all be there with you on your road to recovery, everyday.

     
  5. eric

    December 22, 2006 at 11:21 pm

    Joel – We’ll all be with you every step of the way. Glad to hear things are going well. Talk to you on Xmas.

    Love ya bro,
    Eric

     
  6. Amber

    December 23, 2006 at 12:04 am

    Hi Yoeller!
    It is so great to read your words! What amazing progress you have made in the last couple days! It probably seems so slow for you but I’m sure you are moving faster than many other people! Good luck getting to Denver! It looks like a pertty tough go right now.

    Enjoy the sunny Flag weather for Christmas! We are all thinking of you, Erika and your family!! Merry Christmas!!
    Amber
    PS Is there a chimney for Santa to get down in the hopsital? You know, he knows when your awake…so you better get some good rest! ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  7. Janice

    December 23, 2006 at 12:36 am

    Hey Joel,

    I stopped by the Tempe house today and spent some time with Boo. We had a nice time together. He told me he misses you and hopes you get better fast. He also said your lap/chest is the best for hanging out.

    Anyway, since Boo can’t type, I thought I would do this for him.

    Janice

     
  8. Ray Bennett

    December 23, 2006 at 1:08 am

    Hey Joel! I’ve been remiss in sending you a note but you’ve been in my waking (and sleeping) thoughts constantly. Jenny and I were shocked and saddened to hear that you had been in an accident. We remain thankful that things did not turn out worse. Which seems ludicrous to say, but Dr. Jenn has reminded me how fortunate we are considering.

    So I’ve been thinking how I don’t know a more optimistic or upbeat person than you. Which doesn’t make things necessarily fair but it does mean you’ve got the personality and spirit to make the best of any situation. And if I know one thing it’s that I never once saw you without your sense of humor intact. You know, the one that injects any room with comfort, good will, and cheer. You might not understand it but most times you just being in the room is enough to brighten things up. It’s not that you behave or look a certain way. It’s just that you carry that light around with you and it’s immediately apparent to those of us who can see by it, which reading through this blog seems to be most everyone.

    But, I also sense some people are fooled by that ‘nice guy’ approach but not me. I spent too much time chasing you up those Portland hills on my bike to not know better. Yep,…while testing your mettle I got to admire your back side quite a bit over that Summer. So let’s just say I know you have more than enough tenacity and resolve to meet your newest challenges head on.

    We were happy to see you are typing and hammering out your thoughts…..It gives us joy to see your words and follow along with your adventures. I can imagine you’re biting at the bit to get to Denver and start knocking down some walls and shaking the foundations so hang in there pardner. We’re rootin’ for ya’. And although I’m sure it’s not how you wanted to spend it, we want to wish you a Merry Christmas and a Quick Recovery in the New Year because we love you, Joel. Take care of yourself….Ray, Jenn and Brady.

     
  9. Uncle George

    December 23, 2006 at 1:31 am

    Joel…It’s great to see you writing now! We’re all reading every single post and thinking about you and praying for you daily. I’m still in Albany getting the office cleaned up before the holiday week.
    It’s a bummer about the Denver weather, but you’ll get there before you know it. I remember driving from Denver to Ft. Collins in a bad storm at Christmas time. I-25 was closed and we crashed for the night with your parents, who were iving in Longmont at the time (before Crestview, before kids)
    Keep up the good work and Merry Chistmas to you and Erika and the Flagstaff crew.
    Love, George…

     
  10. beth

    December 23, 2006 at 12:23 pm

    Joel-
    hey dude! sounds like you’re doing well. i’m glad you’re up and about most of the day. i’m sure as soon as the doc clears you your occupational therapist will be dying to get you in the shower! ๐Ÿ™‚
    one of those things those OTs like to do.
    paul and i are getting ready to head out to rochester to hang with the hansens for christmas.

    rest up for your flight!
    all our love to you, erika and those other yates!
    beth

     
  11. Leigha

    December 23, 2006 at 1:53 pm

    ErikaandJoel (as you’ve become to Lucas),

    We continue to pray for you both and it was absolutely wonderful to see you typing, Joel. I’m sorry to hear about the delay in getting to Denver but I’m glad you didn’t get stuck in the storm (flying in snow? no thanks…). I took Lucas to see Santa last night and although we waited in line for 2 hours (who knew Santa took a 1/2 hour break at 6?) Lucas was really patient. He didn’t even wait to sit on Santa’s lap before asking for three things: Floam, a skateboard (um, no) and for Joel to feel better. Lucas has been *very* good this year so I have no doubt Santa will grant all his wishes. Except the skateboard, because mom says not until he can walk without falling into everything. ๐Ÿ™‚ Take care, we love you and are keeping you in our thoughts and prayers. -Leigha

     
  12. Debbie Royds

    December 23, 2006 at 3:13 pm

    Hey Joel. Larry & I just wanted to let you & Erika know that you are in our prayers and thouhgts. We saw your mom last night at the Hiegels – she is doing well and is anxiousa for you to get here to Denver. The snow has long since gone and we have suny Colorado skies – no more snow in the forecast. Keep fighting and keep your sense of humor! know that you are loved by lots of people.

    Hope to see you when you get settled in Denver. To Erike – God bless! I am sure you being there with Joel helps to keep him in line! Be strong.
    God Bless
    Debbe & Larry Royds

     
  13. Dowd Family

    December 23, 2006 at 4:00 pm

    Joel-

    We just got back into computer and cell phone world after our sailing trip to the British Virgin Islands.

    We are all so glad to read your comments on the blog. It is good to hear you are kicking some booty. We have a story for you…

    Our leg from Miami to Denver was cancelled becuase of the storm and we wanted to get home before Christmas so we were able to get a flight into St. Louis. From that point we drove the 15 hours home, in a cozy little car, only to arrive at our house with an unplowed driveway. So we hiked the half mile (oops, mom just corrected me 3/4 of a mile, in the dark, up hill) to our house in 2 feet of beautiful snow. Now, we are just hanging out strandad at our house waiting for your arrival:)

    You have our support,
    Erin, Bill, LeMoine, Clare, and Kelly

     
  14. gwadzilla

    December 23, 2006 at 6:19 pm

    joel

    judging from the sidebar you suffered a serious injury

    I scanned the site for something about how things happened and how things are coming along
    but was not able to find what I was looking for

    best wishes to you and yours
    a brother by name
    a brother on the bike
    another lover of life
    those are some great pictures of you and your girlfriend
    hopefully you will heal up fast to be smiling in front of the camera in an exotic place with your beautiful girlfriend some time soon

    my thoughts are with you
    may your holiday be merry
    and let the new year bring you great joy

    love and luck from a stranger
    joel
    http://www.gwadzilla.blogspot.com

     
  15. Matthew Powell

    December 23, 2006 at 7:59 pm

    Joel,
    It’s good to hear from you!! You have really been a true inspiration with your progress and determination. As you can easily see from all the messages on this blog your will and good spirits are nothing less than amazing. I hope someday I am half as successful as you have been in affecting peoples lives is a positive way. I hope you have a good christmas!! Hopefully I will be able to drop by soon after you arrive in CO.

    Matt and Amy

     
  16. Maggie Knight

    December 24, 2006 at 12:52 am

    Hey Yole!
    It’s great to hear from you. Jess and I have been thinking about you everyday and checking in on your website. You’re an amazing person who has touched many lives.
    We will be in Flagstaff on the 25-26th and will check the hospital to see if you’re still around. We’d love to see you. If we miss you, have a great christmas with your family and friends – we love you. Maggie, Jess and Noe (our little beagle)

     
  17. Jen O and family

    December 24, 2006 at 3:00 am

    Joel,

    Hi – it’s Erika’s friend from school – Jen. I am checking the blog now from a relative’s house in Chicago and I was sharing your story with my young niece and nephew, who are 9 and 7. They are really inspired by your courage – I read them your posts. Wow! It’s so great that you are able to write and share with us! Henry says to tell you, “I hope you feel better soon. I hope you have a great Christmas. And I hope that you and Erika have fun.” Isa wants to know if you have any pets…. she is an animal lover. I tell her that you have a kitty. She says that animals can be very healing. So there you have it, more people you have never even met who are thinking of you!! Good luck in Colorado. I think the Front Range mountains are a very special, healing place.. Henry also wants to add, “I hope I get to meet you someday.”

    peace and holiday cheer to you
    Jen O

     
  18. Janis

    December 24, 2006 at 5:18 am

    Joel,
    You have so many people that will be there with you, every step, every stumble, every renewed effort. Have a Merry Christmas and rest up cuz from what I saw in the video they will have you pushing and pulling ass when you get to Craig. Much love. Janis

     
  19. Juli and John Begley

    December 24, 2006 at 1:48 pm

    Hello Joel and Erika,

    You have been in our prayers and on the prayer chains of multiple churches in Oklahoma and Texas. God has certainly answered some of those prayers and I believe his work is not completed yet. You are a very strong young man and John and I have ultimate faith that you will do well with what ever it is that the Lord has planned for you. Thank you for sharing your sister-in-law and beautiful niece with us. It was wonderful to have them here for my graduation from UT’s School of Nursing. We will continue to pray for you and your family.

    Love and huge Hugs… John and Juli (Jessica’s mom and dad).

     
  20. Bernadette and Gil

    December 24, 2006 at 4:15 pm

    Joel,
    There is no better message at this holiday season then your posts to the blog. You are truly an inspiration to all.

    Blessings to you and Erika.

     

Leave a Reply

 
