RSS

XMas in Flagstaff

21 Dec

It looks like the flight to Craig in Denver has been postponed until Tuesday because of weather, staffing and holiday issues. We were all disappointed, but Joel is still making great progress here at the FMC. His new room is much bigger and holds all our packed bags, Christmas gifts and flowers. He’s getting better at getting in and out of the wheelchair and yesterday we took a full tour of the hospital. Although he dreads it because it takes everything out of him (“it beats me up”), the nurses claim that’s the best physical therapy. I’m going to see if I can get him up here to post something himself. The chest tubes will come out this afternoon, which will help with breathing and mobility. So, I’m sure coughing and therapy will get much easier for him tomorrow. Thank you again to everyone!
-Erika

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 21, 2006 in Previous Posts

 

4 responses to “XMas in Flagstaff

  1. mb

    December 21, 2006 at 6:34 pm

    Erika,
    Thank you so much for keeping us so well informed! You are awesome, and we are thankful Joel has you there to help him through this. Wish we could be there, too! 🙂

     
  2. Alice

    December 21, 2006 at 11:51 pm

    Erika,
    Just let us know when you’re taking off and we’ll get the house patrol underway. (Boo’s excited about being a deputy watch-cat! I just don’t know where to pin the darn badge on him…). We’re amazed following the events of your lives over the past few days – thanks for sharing. This has provided new clarity to our priorities in life.

    Alice

     
  3. Laurie Marta

    December 22, 2006 at 3:02 am

    Dear Joel,

    A note from Alaska to wish you well. You have been in my thoughts and prayers every day. My sister, Connie, and her husband, Loran, who are also praying for you, are Bill’s Alaskan neighbors. We believe in the power of prayer and know all things are possible in God.

    I wish you and Erika a beautiful Christmas filled with all the love your hearts can hold.

    Laurie

     
  4. Diane Kingsley

    December 22, 2006 at 6:32 am

    Janice said that Joel had a cracked sternum, which you know I also had from my auto accident. I keep hearing that he is coughing up mucus and I’m amazed because it has to hurt like hell. I know I was praying I wouldn’t have to sneeze or cough for those first few weeks.

    Knowing the extent of his injuries, I’m amazed at his progress. Must be the power or prayer and family. He is truly blessed in that area.

    Thanks to you and Bryan for posting all the updates. Give Joel and hug and kiss for me. Sounds like you will have a White Christmas…Brett too. Denver got 1-3 feet of snow as you know. Brett’s been stuck in his apartment and his car is buried!
    He wants to come visit Joel when he gets to Craig.

    Janice has invited me to join her on Christmas to drive up to Flagstaff. I’m excited I’ll get to see you both then and wish you Merry Christmas in person. See you soon!

     

Leave a Reply

 
