RSS

It’s me, Joel

21 Dec

It has been a traumatic two weeks for me, as I am sure you can imagine. I can’t begin to thank everyone for their thoughts, prayers, help, baked goods, aftermoon visits, words of encougements, and all the help I have received from those around the country. All your help is greatly appreciated.

I want to let everyone know that I am doing well all the visits from friends and Erika.

Considering this is my first post, I will keep it short. I just wanted to thank everyone for their support in my time of need. I don’t know if I will ever be able to fully show my appreciation, but I will always be trying.

The one thing have realized in the last couple of weeks is that how lucky I am to know so many wonderful people in my life. If I take anything from this experience, it is that the sucess of a life is not the size of your home or cars, but the people around you. Based on the last couple of weeks, I feel I must have been doing something right in life.

I will keep in touch and write more once I get to Denver. I love you all.

— Joel

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 21, 2006 in Previous Posts

 

10 responses to “It’s me, Joel

  1. Eric

    December 21, 2006 at 7:42 pm

    Joel – You’ve been doing it the right way since Day 1. People gravitate towards you because of your positive energy and your zest for life. We ALL love you!

     
  2. Janice

    December 21, 2006 at 8:06 pm

    Joel,

    You are amazing! Keep up the good work. Now that you have wheels, who knows where you might go next.

    Sorry Mother Nature did not cooperate with your plans to go to Denver, but we are all looking forward to spending Christmas with you.

    Much Love, Janice

     
  3. Matt

    December 21, 2006 at 9:30 pm

    Joel,
    Good to hear from you man!! It’s awesome that you are getting so much better every single day. I will be in Denver next week and if at all possible It would be nice to see ya. Maybe I can slip some ‘nog’ past the nurses and we can celebrate your continuing improvements.
    On a serious note, I hope you and your family have a good christmas, and you are always in Amy and my prayers.
    Matt P.

     
  4. Joel

    December 21, 2006 at 10:01 pm

    Joel, The sun just came out here in Niwot and the sky is blue with all the beautiful, although a lot of, snow. Then I get to the blog and alas, it’s a post from you!! That was like the sun shining again!! You are blessed with so many wonderful people in your life because of who you are. Have a safe journey to Colorado and we’ll be seeing you soon. Happy Holidays to you, Erika and the entire Yates clan.
    Bernadette and Gil

     
  5. Asia Haase

    December 21, 2006 at 10:56 pm

    Yoel, it is so good to hear from you!! Good luck in Denver and please keep us posted we are thinking of you every day!! Mike and Asia

     
  6. Peter Scanlon

    December 22, 2006 at 12:05 am

    Joel,

    You’re the man. Keep fighting the good fight.

    Pete and Alison

     
  7. Matt Unger

    December 22, 2006 at 1:58 pm

    Joel,

    Great to hear that you are up and moving around a bit. Glad to see you’re making great strides and hope you keep them up.

     
  8. Jason Burch

    December 22, 2006 at 6:12 pm

    Joel,

    You have been in our thoughts and prayers everyday. As there have been people across the country rooting for you, there is also a lot of people here in TEXAS wishing you the best! I will see you soon.

    P.S. Favorite “Yoelism” – “I would never Sh*t you, you are my favorite terd”

     
  9. paul

    December 22, 2006 at 6:18 pm

    Sweet dude, let’s start drinking!

    -just kidding just kidding

    you’re a tough mo-fo Joel. I remember one time at some amusement park when we were little and all of us cousins got on this roller coaster and as soon as it was over Bryan and I got off, a little rattled, and we watched little Joel continue to ride this thing like three more times! I remember thinking, damn Joel’s a lot tough little bastard. I’ll never forget that. Stay strong bro.

     
  10. Beth

    December 22, 2006 at 8:24 pm

    Hi Joel!!
    Glad to hear you’re doing better all the time, keep up the good work!

    I had a flashback yesterday … As I was digging out my driveway, I saw a truck drive by pulling a kneeboarder through the street, no joke! Who would do such a thing??

    Have a great Christmas, and see you soon!

     

Leave a Reply

 
