RSS

Every day is better

19 Dec

Boy, what a day. Yesterday was crazy, with deciding about Craig Hospital and everything. Today is special. Joel sat up most of the morning and into the afternoon. It’s really helping to get all that mucus out.

I got him “Office Space” to watch in his room. While we were watching that, the PT guys came and put him in a normal wheelchair. He rolled himself around the hospital. He was looking outside and at the pictures on the wall. The whole time he was cracking jokes with the nurses and PT guys. Then the occupational therapist came in and worked on Joel’s dexterity. She also made him put on a robe, brush his teeth and comb his hair. First time since first grade he’s done that.

The nurses and PT guys like Joel a lot. He makes them laugh. I know they’ll be sad to see him go. He’s the only fun one on the ICU floor. Right he’s napping from all the activity.

We have got all the signatures from the doctors, so Craig is a go. He will transported with his chest tubes in and they will be taken out at Craig. He will leave Wednesday, depending on the weather. The weather forecast for Flagg is looking pretty good. I heard they want him in Denver by 2 p.m. I’ll get Joel and Erika on the plane, and then I’ll be off.

If you are planning on sending him a card or anything, please send it to Craig or my mom in Colorado.
Let’s hope for good weather.

— Bryan

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 19, 2006 in Previous Posts

 

4 responses to “Every day is better

  1. Peter Scanlon

    December 19, 2006 at 11:53 pm

    Huh? Wha…wha…what?

    Joel Yates combed his hair?

    That’s gotta be the first Horseman of the Apocalype. Where’s my Bible? I think I hear hoofbeats…

    Either that or he needs another neuro workup, because something is definitely wrong. Personality shift or something.

    Safe trip, Joel! Enjoy the Mile High air, and keep them nurses hoppin’. Talk to you soon, right?

    Pete

     
  2. Marge Scanlon/aka Pete's mom

    December 19, 2006 at 11:54 pm

    Joel,
    I have been watching your progress on the website and I am pleased that you seem to be improving day by day.
    Since you and Erika are leaving this area for a bit – let me know if there is anything here that I can help you with while you are gone.
    Wishing you the best.
    Pete’s Mom

     
  3. Matt

    December 20, 2006 at 12:09 am

    WOOOAAAA back up the train, Joel, I think your meds are off, why else would you comb your hair???
    Have a safe trip buddy, your getting closer to your mother land, the Republic of Boulder, I am happy for you!!
    I’ll keep checkin for updates, take care,

    Matt,

     
  4. beth

    December 20, 2006 at 1:42 am

    I’m excited for you transfer to Craig. It looks like a great program. Good luck with the trip. I hate flying anyway(not the actual flying part, just all the logistics–oh and the take off and landing parts too). Can’t imagine the trip with chest tubes!

    Beth

     

Leave a Reply

 
