RSS

Saturday Dec. 16

16 Dec

Sorry it’s been awhile since an update. Rory and Bryan went to Phoenix Friday to visit the Barrow Instittue, a spinal-cord injury rehabilitation clinic. It is close to Joel and Erika’s place, about 20 minutes, and we talked to the supervisor. He was a vey positive man. He had a lot of good things to say. Erika will visit Barrow on Monday to also take a tour. We also visited http://www.craighospital.com to look at a 28-minute video about the rehab facility. It’s under spinal cord video if you would like to watch it.

We saw Joel Friday night and he was in a lot of pain. He slept most of the day Friday. When we saw him Saturday morning he was propped up at an 30-degree angle. He had his glasses on and was having breakfast — waffles and cereal to be precise. He was also reading the paper and watching a little TV. He has a little physical therapy today and he was very excited about that. We talked to him a lot and he was in a little pain, but in good spirits. Phill and Rory went home today and Bryan will be in Flagstaff until Tuesday. Joel asked me if we were still on for the Bronco game Sunday. He also said he may feel like making some calls tomorrow. We’ll see.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on December 16, 2006 in Previous Posts

 

7 responses to “Saturday Dec. 16

  1. Christine

    December 16, 2006 at 9:10 pm

    Joel,

    Hang in there through the hard times. I hope your physical therapy doesn’t cause you too much pain! Stay strong, get lot’s of rest and I hope to see you if you end up at rehab in Phoenix.

    You are in my thoughts and prayers all day long. And I send you a special little prayer every evening before bedtime.

    Oh. And congratulations on getting past first-base 🙂

    Lot’s of love and best wishes to you,
    Christine Washburn

     
  2. David Jokerst

    December 16, 2006 at 9:43 pm

    Joel,

    I got the news on wednesday in an email and was sad to hear what had happened. One thing I know for sure is that you have got a hell of a lot of people behind you on this that care about you very much. Don’t be afraid to look to us for support in times of need as the rehabilitation ahead will be tough and painful at times. Have faith my friend and press forward. Remember you still have a beating heart and a clear mind. For it is with those two things that a man can make miracles. And if you ever stop believing read up on a man named Carl Brashear. Take care bro and I look forward to seeing you and going to a Broncos game at Mile High soon.

    Dave Jokerst

     
  3. beth

    December 17, 2006 at 12:06 am

    Joel-

    Sounds like things are off to a good start. I know it’s hard to be social while you’re in the hospital, on meds etc. Sounds like the Barrows Institute is good. Wherever you end up I’m sure you’ll get good care. Therapists are a friendly, helpful breed generally! 🙂

    Love ya
    Beth (Hansen!)

     
  4. Marcia Arasz

    December 17, 2006 at 12:12 am

    Hi Joel, Jessie A’s Mom here. You’re in my prayers everyday. I’m so happy to read that the surgery went so well. If I can help with clothing, say, zippers or velcro in the sides of pants legs or any ideas to help get dressed any easier send them on to me – of course no charge. There’s always a room here when you and Erica want to ski Aspen/Snowmass. Love, Marcia

     
  5. Marcia Arasz

    December 17, 2006 at 12:22 am

    Hi Joel, Jessie A’s Mom here. You’re in my prayers everyday. I was so happy to read about how well the surgery went. This blog is a great idea. If I can help with altering clothing at all, like zippers or velcro in sides of pants to help get dressed easier or any other ideas send them on, and no charge of course. Remember you have a room here when you and Erica want to ski Aspen/Snowmass. Prayers for strength and positive attitude, with YOUR fan mail you can’t miss there. Love, Marcia

     
  6. Bryan Yates

    December 17, 2006 at 4:58 am

    Joel,
    I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. I love you and I’m very proud to have you as my brother. I’m with you every step of the way.
    Love,
    Bryan Yates

     
  7. Marcia Arasz

    December 17, 2006 at 6:44 pm

    Joel, you’ll need my address if you want to send me stuff to alter.
    0044 Plum
    Basalt, Co 81621
    Love & Prayers, Marcia

     

Leave a Reply

 
